Kirchgessner Vision Foundation EIN 68-0530356 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Kirchgessner Vision Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Sherman Oaks, CA. It reported about $858K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $858K in revenue, $993K in expenses, and $19.7M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Sherman Oaks, CA
Website
www.kirchgessnerfoundation.org
Filings
5 on file (2020–2024)
Revenue
$858KFY2024
Expenses
$993K
Net assets
$19.7M
People
9
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  68-0530356 Private foundation / grantmaker Sherman Oaks, CA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Kirchgessner Vision Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Sherman Oaks, CA. It reported about $858K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Kathleen McGrath Kramer · VP/Treasurer/Secretary/Director · $74K
Money in and out
$858K revenue, $993K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$858K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$993K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$19.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$135K
Total assets
19.9M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
598K
in FY2024
Grants made
24grants
total in period
Payout rate
3%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 24 grants · $598K · 2024–2024
Vision to LearnFY2024$105,000
Marshall B Ketchum UniversityFY2024$45,000
Beyond Blindness Formerly Known as Blind Children's Learning CenterFY2024$40,000
Western University of Health SciencesFY2024$35,000
Wayfinder Family ServicesFY2024$35,000
Los Angeles City College FoundationFY2024$31,500
Venice Family ClinicFY2024$30,000
Healing CaliforniaFY2024$30,000
Family Health Care Centers of Greater Los AngelesFY2024$30,000
Children's Hospital Los AngelesFY2024$30,000
Therapeutic Living Centers for the BlindFY2024$25,000
Choc FoundationFY2024$25,000
Braille InstituteFY2024$25,000
Valley Community HealthcareFY2024$20,000
Guide Dogs of AmericaFY2024$20,000
ArtsuplaFY2024$20,000
Academy of Music for the BlindFY2024$20,000
Blind Children's CenterFY2024$15,000
See all 24 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$25K
Median grantPart XV$25K
Largest grantPart XV$105K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$858K
FY2024▼ -7%
Expenses
$993K
FY2024▼ -7%
Total assets
$19.9M
FY2024▲ +5%
Total liabilities
$192K
FY2024▲ +543%
Total revenue
$858K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$993K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$19.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$19.9M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CKirchgessner Vision Foundation
EINHdr · item D68-0530356
Principal addressHdr · item CSherman Oaks, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.kirchgessnerfoundation.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T21)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2003

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
VP/Treasurer/Secretary/Director
$74,200Pt VII · Sec A
Grants Coordinator
$69,553Pt VII · Sec A
President/Director
$64,800Pt VII · Sec A
$5,000Pt VII · Sec A
$3,000Pt VII · Sec A
$3,000Pt VII · Sec A
$2,500Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 8 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2024
Kathleen McGrath Kramer$74,200$71,800
Christine Tuthill$69,553
Michael Kramer$64,800$46,500
Elizabeth Murray$5,000$5,000
Thomas C Lee MD$3,000$2,000
Kathryn Nelson Od$3,000
Angeline Nguyen MD$2,500$3,000
Dr Kathryn Parsa Od$3,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Kirchgessner Vision Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$857K
Other revenue$446
Total revenueLn 12$858K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.60 Operating & administrative $0.40
Grants & contributions paid60%$598K
Operating & administrative40%$395K
Total functional expensesLn 25$993K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$35K
Total assetsLn 16$19.9M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$192K
Total net assetsLn 32$19.7M
Months of cash on handcomputed0.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $19.9M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $858K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $858K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $858K · Prior year $918K
-7%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $416K · FY2024 $858K
+16%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $19.7M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $858K · Expenses $993K
-16%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $19.9M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $19.7M · Total assets $19.9M
99%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Kathleen McGrath Kramer · Reported title VP/TREASURER/SECRETARY/DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $74K · Total expenses $993K
7%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -7%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024$918K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$416K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.