Carenow Foundation INC

Jasper, TN · Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Human Services

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$117K
+15% vs prior year
Net assets
$124K
By yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$117K
FY2024▲ +15%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$92K
FY2022$137K
FY2023$102K
FY2024$117K
Net assets
$124K
FY2024+0.5%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$139K
FY2022$120K
FY2023$123K
FY2024$124K

From the FY2024 Form 990 · see the original

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CCarenow Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D59-3814178
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 2006
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990-EZ
Principal addressHdr · item CJasper, TN
NTEE classificationIRS BMFHuman Services (P40)
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.compassionow.org

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Operating runway
6.0mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▼ -26% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+6%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ +60% vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
+6%
avg. annual growth over 5 years

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19—
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16—
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B—
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16—
Total liabilitiesLn 26$3K
Total net assetsLn 32$124K

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$117K
Total revenueLn 12$117K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $55K · Operating expenses/yr $110K
6.0 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $98K · Total revenue $117K
84%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $117K
—
Investment reliance
Investment income $14K · Total revenue $117K
+12%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $110K
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $117K · Prior year $102K
+15%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $92K · FY2024 $117K
+6%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $124K · Beginning of year $123K
+0.5%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $117K · Expenses $110K
+6%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $3K · Total assets $127K
2%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $124K · Total assets $127K
98%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Edward Bjurstrom · Reported title President · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $110K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits — · Total expenses $110K
Form 990-EZ bundles compensation — not comparable to full-990 filers
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 15%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Carenow Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

Delivers vital medical care to underserved populations globally.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Carenow Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $53K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

1,000 hills south africa: the 1,999 hill community helpers clinic isdedicated to providing compassionate service and medical care to the people of the valley of 1,000 hills, south africa. They seek to improve the lives of children and adults infected and affected by chronic illnesses such as HIV/AIDS, TB, hepatitis, diabetes, cancer…

$40Kprogram expense
02

Tanzania Christian Clinic

The tanzania christian clinic (TCC) was founded to educate healthcare providers in the treatment of tropical diseases and to alleviate sickness by treatment and prevention. TCC exists to offer quality healthcare to all who are in need with the primary focus being those who are medically underserved in this northern part of tanzania.

$10Kprogram expense
03

Carenow foundation is dedicated to establishing and supporting effective medical clinics in african locations where the most basic healthcare is simply unavailable. While focused on delivering basic healthcare, the teaching and training of local people in basic healthcare practices and establishing community caregivers has an even…

$2Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 2 funders$40K
Grants paid · 5 grants · $53K · 2020–2020

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest Viewing $117K—+15% 990 PDF
FY2023 $102K—-26% 990 PDF
FY2022 $137K—+49% 990 PDF
FY2021 Not on file
FY2020 $92K$109K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Carenow Foundation INC →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.