Constance Dundas Foundation EIN 54-1894989

Constance Dundas Foundation

EIN  54-1894989 Private foundation / grantmaker Richmond, VA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Constance Dundas Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Richmond, VA. It reported about $564K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Fred J Bernhardt JR · Trustee · $55K
Money in and out
$564K revenue, $474K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Richmond, VA. It reported about $564K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $564K in revenue, $474K in expenses, and $4.9M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$564K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$474K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.9M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $90K
Total assets
4.9M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
370K
in FY2025
Grants made
16grants
total in period
Payout rate
8%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 16 grants · $370K · 2024–2024
The Community FoundationFY2024$60,000
Vcu-Mcv FoundationFY2024$45,000
Chanco on the James INCVA · FY2024$30,000
Good Neighbor Village INCVA · FY2024$30,000
St Andrews SchoolMI · FY2024$30,000
The Health Wagon INCFY2024$30,000
The Miami Foundation INCFL · FY2024$25,000
Faith Mission Home INCVA · FY2024$10,000
Virginia Museum of HistoryFY2024$7,500
The Read CenterFY2024$7,500
Daily Planet Health ServicesFY2024$5,000
Crossover Health MinistryFY2024$5,000
Good Shepherd Episcopal SchoolFY2024$5,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV8
Average grantPart XV$23K
Median grantPart XV$25K
Largest grantPart XV$60K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (19%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$564K
FY2025▼ -31%
Expenses
$474K
FY2025▼ -3%
Total assets
$4.9M
FY2025▲ +2%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$564K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$474K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.9M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$4.9M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CConstance Dundas Foundation
EINHdr · item D54-1894989
Principal addressHdr · item CRichmond, VA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MVA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 1998

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
$54,513Pt VII · Sec A
See Constance Dundas Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$564K
Total revenueLn 12$564K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.78 Operating & administrative $0.22
Grants & contributions paid78%$370K
Operating & administrative22%$104K
Total functional expensesLn 25$474K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$58K
Total assetsLn 16$4.9M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$4.9M
Months of cash on handcomputed1.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $4.9M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $564K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $564K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $564K · Prior year $813K
-31%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $285K · FY2024 $564K
+15%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4.9M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $564K · Expenses $474K
+16%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $4.9M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4.9M · Total assets $4.9M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Fred J Bernhardt JR · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $55K · Total expenses $474K
11%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -31%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$564K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$813K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$101K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$38K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$285K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.