Schock Foundation

Tax-deductible

Sioux Falls, SD501(c)(3)EIN 46-6012429

501(c)(3) charity; gifts are tax-deductible.
Status: IRS Pub. 78

Before you give

FY2024 · Form 990-PFIndependent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
Is it a real charity?
501(c)(3)
not on the IRS revocation list
Looks good: listed by the IRS and not on the revocation list.
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Are gifts tax-deductible?
Yes
Donations are tax-deductible
Looks good: the IRS lists gifts to it as deductible.
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Is it filing on time?
FY2024
latest Form 990-PF
Looks good: the latest return is for FY2024, 2 tax years back; within 2 years looks good.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Is it financially stable?
5 of 6
years in the black
Worth a look: 1 of the last 6 filings shows a deficit.
990-PF Pt I · 6 filings
Do they have reserves?
7 mo
of spending, in cash
Looks good: 6.6 months of spending in cash; 3 or more looks good.
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Do they carry debt?
$0
liabilities
Looks good: debts are 0% of assets; 50% or less looks good.
990-PF Pt II
Looks goodWorth a lookConcernTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$132K
+22% vs prior year
Spent
$35K
Net assets
$644K
By yearFY2019–FY2024
Revenue
$132K
FY2024▲ +22%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2019$14K
FY2020$20K
FY2021$42K
FY2022$26K
FY2023$108K
FY2024$132K
Expenses
$35K
FY2024▲ +16%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2019$25K
FY2020$12K
FY2021$36K
FY2022$24K
FY2023$30K
FY2024$35K
Net assets
$644K
FY2024▲ +56%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2019$320K
FY2020$326K
FY2021$332K
FY2022$334K
FY2023$412K
FY2024$644K

From the FY2024 Form 990 · see the original

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CSchock Foundation
EINHdr · item D46-6012429
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 1959
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CSioux Falls, SD
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.85 Operating & administrative $0.15
Grants & contributions paid85%$30K
Operating & administrative15%$5K
Total functional expensesLn 25$35K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Total assets
644K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
30K
in FY2024
Grants made
14grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$644K
FY2024▲ +56%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2019$320K
FY2020$326K
FY2021$332K
FY2022$334K
FY2023$412K
FY2024$644K
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2019$0
FY2020$180
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
Total assetsPt II$644K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$19K
Total assetsLn 16$644K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$644K
Months of cash on handcomputed6.6

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$100K · 76%
Investment income$32K · 24%
Contributions & grants76%$100K
Investment income24%$32K
Total revenueLn 12$132K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $644K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $132K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $132K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $132K · Prior year $108K
+22%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $644K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $132K · Expenses $35K
+74%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $644K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $644K · Total assets $644K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Paul Schock · Reported title Director · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $35K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 22%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secr.-Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Schock Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in Sioux Falls, SD.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Schock Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 14 grants · $30K · 2024–2024
Youth with a MissionFY2024$9,900
CollisonFY2024$4,500
Life ChurchFY2024$2,500
Invitation ChurchFY2024$2,500
Haiti AliveFY2024$2,000
Shift GarageSD · FY2024$2,000
Global Health OutreachFY2024$1,000
First Baptist ChurchFY2024$1,000
LifelightFY2024$1,000
Sioux Falls ChristianFY2024$1,000
Kingdom CapitalFL · FY2024$600
Mission HaitiFY2024$500
Boy ScoutsFY2024$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV3
Average grantPart XV$2K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$10K
Top cause focusNTEEReligion (7%)

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest Viewing $132K$35K+22% 990 PDF
FY2023 $108K$30K+312% 990 PDF
FY2022 $26K$24K-38% 990 PDF
FY2021 $42K$36K+113% 990 PDF
FY2020 $20K$12K+38% 990 PDF
FY2019 $14K$25K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.