Open Stewardship Foundation EIN 45-3682002

Open Stewardship Foundation

EIN  45-3682002 Private foundation / grantmaker Los Angeles, CA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Open Stewardship Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Los Angeles, CA. It reported about $1.9M in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Brian Choi · Chairman
Money in and out
$1.9M revenue, $856K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Los Angeles, CA. It reported about $1.9M in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $1.9M in revenue, $856K in expenses, and $11.1M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$1.9M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$856K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$11.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $1.0M
Total assets
11.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
707K
in FY2025
Grants made
89grants
total in period
Payout rate
6%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 89 grants · $707K · 2025–2025
Pasadena Community FoundationFY2025$200,000
JeonhamFY2025$50,000
Eastmont Community CenterFY2025$20,000
Good Neighbors USAFY2025$15,000
Circle of Friends in LoveFY2025$15,000
American Wheat (milal) MissionFY2025$15,000
Somang SocietyFY2025$10,000
Shalom Disability MinistriesFY2025$10,000
Shalom Center for Tree of LifeFY2025$10,000
Koreantown Senior & CommunityFY2025$10,000
Korean American Speical EducationFY2025$10,000
Hope Sight Mission AssociationFY2025$10,000
Hanmi Family Counseling CenterFY2025$10,000
Grace Community ServicesFY2025$10,000
Watered Garden MissionFY2025$8,000
Vision Care Service WestFY2025$8,000
Home on the Green PasturesFY2025$7,000
Happy VillageFY2025$7,000
See all 89 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$8K
Median grantPart XV$4K
Largest grantPart XV$200K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$1.9M
FY2025▼ -18%
Expenses
$856K
FY2025▲ +44%
Total assets
$11.2M
FY2025▲ +10%
Total liabilities
$50K
FY2025
Total revenue
$1.9M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$856K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$11.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$11.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item COpen Stewardship Foundation
EINHdr · item D45-3682002
Principal addressHdr · item CLos Angeles, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.openstewardship.com
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2013

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Chairman
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Chairma
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President &
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Open Stewardship Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$1.9M
Total revenueLn 12$1.9M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.83 Operating & administrative $0.17
Grants & contributions paid83%$707K
Operating & administrative17%$149K
Total functional expensesLn 25$856K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$11.2M
Total assetsLn 16$11.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$50K
Total net assetsLn 32$11.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed156.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $11.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $1.9M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $1.9M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $1.9M · Prior year $2.3M
-18%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $1.4M · FY2025 $1.9M
+5%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $11.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $1.9M · Expenses $856K
+54%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $11.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $11.1M · Total assets $11.2M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Brian Choi · Reported title CHAIRMAN · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $856K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -18%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Open Stewardship Foundation →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$1.9M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$2.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$3.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$2.8M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$1.4M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.