Appanoose Economic Development Corp

Centerville, IAUnknown exempt organizationEIN 42-1285797

To assist in quality job creation that will serve to increase both the economic vitality of the area and the quality of life enjoyed by the residence of the county

Mission: Form 990 Part I, line 1

Before you give

FY2020 · Form 990Independent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
Latest return
FY2020
latest Form 990
Concern: the latest return is for FY2020, 6 tax years back; more than 4 tax years.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Spent on programs
0%
of spending
Concern: 0% of spending went to programs; under 50%.
Pt IX · Ln 25 · col B
Liabilities
$0
total owed
No data yet: the filing does not give total assets.
Pt X · Ln 26
Independent board members
8
of 8 voting members
Looks good: 8 of 8 voting members are independent, a majority.
Pt VI · Ln 1a–1b
Looks goodFineWorth a lookConcernNo data yetTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$90K
Spent
$589K
To programs
0%
Net assets
$0

From the FY2020 Form 990 · see the original

Give Claim

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Not on file
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
No filing since FY2020 — 6 yrs
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CAppanoose Economic Development Corp
EINHdr · item D42-1285797
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Latest filingForm 990FY2020 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CCenterville, IA
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.appanoosecounty.org

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Surplus margin
-553%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$498K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$0
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 38
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 48

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16$0
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$65K · 73%
Investment income$25K · 27%
Contributions & grants73%$65K
Investment income27%$25K
Total revenueLn 12$90K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves — · Operating expenses/yr $589K
Highly liquid reserves (cash & marketable securities on Pt X) ÷ monthly operating expenses (Pt IX total, less non-cash grants & depreciation when reported).
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $589K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $589K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $589K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $0 · Solicited contributions $65K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $65K · Total revenue $90K
73%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $90K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $90K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $25K · Total revenue $90K
+27%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $589K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $90K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $90K · Expenses $589K
-553%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $0
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $0
—
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $0
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Ed Cox · Reported title DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $589K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $42 · Total expenses $589K
<0.01%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 0%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Preside
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Appanoose Economic Development Corp executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 8Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 8Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Creates quality jobs to boost local economy and residents' quality of life.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Appanoose Economic Development Corp claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

-assisted local businesses with expansion plans. -promoted appanoose county and its resources to buisneses looking to expand. -recognzed local businesses for their contributions to the community.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · this organization's grantmaking
Grants paid · 2 grants · $540K · 2020–2020
Indian Hills Community CollegeFY2020$10,000

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2020 Latest Viewing $90K$589K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Full filing: Form 990 for FY2020

Every line we hold from the return, cited to its Part and line.
Part IX · Statement of functional expenses $588,594 across 8 lines filed
IX-1 Grants to domestic organizations$567,893
IX-10 Payroll taxes$42
IX-11g Other fees for services$8,863
IX-12 Advertising and promotion$1,500
IX-14 Information technology$6,000
IX-16 Occupancy$345
IX-23 Insurance$487
IX-24 Other expenses (24a–d)$3,464
IX-25 Total functional expensesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$588,594

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Appanoose Economic Development Corp →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.