0613 Fraser Nelson Post MN

Pine River, MN · Mutual-benefit / member-serving

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$108K
+50% vs prior year
Spent
$153K
To programs
0%
Net assets
$123K
By yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$108K
FY2024▲ +50%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$37K
FY2021$114K
FY2022$76K
FY2023$72K
FY2024$108K
Expenses
$153K
FY2024▲ +81%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$49K
FY2021$66K
FY2022$74K
FY2023$84K
FY2024$153K
Net assets
$123K
FY2024▼ -27%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$130K
FY2021$178K
FY2022$180K
FY2023$168K
FY2024$123K

From the FY2024 Form 990 · see the original

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item C0613 Fraser Nelson Post MN
EINHdr · item D41-6040169
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(19) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 1962
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CPine River, MN
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Surplus margin
-41%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -143% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990
Total assets
$128K
FY2024▼ -25%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$131K
FY2021$186K
FY2022$187K
FY2023$172K
FY2024$128K
Total liabilities
$5K
FY2024▲ +14%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$2K
FY2021$9K
FY2022$7K
FY2023$4K
FY2024$5K
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$44K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$128K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 35
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 45

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$74K
Total assetsLn 16$128K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$5K
Total net assetsLn 32$123K
Months of cash on handcomputed5.9

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$94K · 87%
Program service revenue$10K · 9%
Contributions & grants$4K · 4%
Other revenue87%$94K
Program service revenue9%$10K
Contributions & grants4%$4K
Investment income$76
Total revenueLn 12$108K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $74K · Operating expenses/yr $153K
5.9 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $153K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $153K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $153K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $5K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $4K · Total revenue $108K
4%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $108K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $10K · Total revenue $108K
9%
Investment reliance
Investment income $76 · Total revenue $108K
+0.07%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $10K · Total expenses $153K
6%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $108K · Prior year $72K
+50%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $37K · FY2024 $108K
+31%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $123K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $108K · Expenses $153K
-41%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $128K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $123K · Total assets $128K
96%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $128K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Duane Kangas · Reported title COMMANDER · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $153K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $95K · Total expenses $153K
62%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 0%——
Revenue growth 50%——
Accounting fee ratio 3%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Commander
$0Pt VII · Sec A
1st Vice
$0Pt VII · Sec A
2nd Vice
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Sgt-At-Arms
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Adjutant
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See 0613 Fraser Nelson Post MN executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 5Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 5Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Supports veterans, promotes Americanism, and aids communities through programs and scholarships.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until 0613 Fraser Nelson Post MN claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

Operation of american legion post serving members and guests throughout the year. Provide color guard at funerals of veterans and at community events. Support community activities of youth through special events throughout the year.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest Viewing $108K$153K+50% 990 PDF
FY2023 $72K$84K-6% 990 PDF
FY2022 $76K$74K-33% 990 PDF
FY2021 $114K$66K+207% 990 PDF
FY2020 $37K$49K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like 0613 Fraser Nelson Post MN →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.