Mariadb Foundation FY2023 filing

Wakefield, MAUnknown exempt organizationEIN 38-3890082

The organization's purpose is to continue the development of, free public access to, and adoption of the open source database management software known as "mariadb" (based on the mysql open source software), and to promote collaboration among developers and users.

$120K paid to officers and key staff.
Mission: Form 990 Part I, line 1 · Pay: Part VII

Before you give

FY2023 · Form 990Independent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
Is it filing on time?
FY2024
latest Form 990
Looks good: the latest return is for FY2024, 2 tax years back; within 2 years looks good.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Is it financially stable?
3 of 5
years in the black
Worth a look: 2 of the last 5 filings show a deficit.
Pt I · Ln 19 · 5 filings
How much reaches the programs?
0%
of spending
Concern: 0% of spending went to programs; under 50% is a concern.
Pt IX · Ln 25 · col B
What are leaders paid?
$120K
to officers and key staff · 10% of spending
Looks good: leaders' pay is 10% of spending; 15% or less looks good.
Pt VII · Sec A
Do they have reserves?
1 mo
of spending, in cash
Worth a look: 1.2 months of spending in cash; under 3 is worth a look.
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Do they carry debt?
$862K
liabilities
Concern: debts are 702% of assets; over 80% is a concern.
Pt X · Ln 26
Who oversees it?
10
independent of 10 voting board members
Looks good: 10 of 10 voting members are independent, a majority.
Pt VI · Ln 1a–1b
Looks goodWorth a lookConcernTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$800K
-33% vs prior year
Spent
$1.2M
To programs
0%
Net assets
−$740K
By yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$800K
FY2023▼ -33%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$889K
FY2021$903K
FY2022$1.2M
FY2023$800K
FY2024$1.6M
Expenses
$1.2M
FY2023▲ +28%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$869K
FY2021$1.1M
FY2022$957K
FY2023$1.2M
FY2024$1.6M
Net assets
−$740K
FY2023▼ -137%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020−$391K
FY2021−$551K
FY2022−$312K
FY2023−$740K
FY2024−$682K

From the FY2023 Form 990 · see the original

Give Claim
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Not on file
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CMariadb Foundation
EINHdr · item D38-3890082
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CWakefield, MA
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
WebsiteHdr · item Jmariadb.org

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Surplus margin
-53%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990
Total assets
$123K
FY2023-0.2%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$4K
FY2021$147K
FY2022$123K
FY2023$123K
FY2024$256K
Total liabilities
$862K
FY2023▲ +98%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$395K
FY2021$698K
FY2022$436K
FY2023$862K
FY2024$939K
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$427K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$123K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 310
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 410

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$123K
Total assetsLn 16$123K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$862K
Total net assetsLn 32−$740K
Months of cash on handcomputed1.2

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue100%$800K
Total revenueLn 12$800K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $123K · Operating expenses/yr $1.2M
1.2 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $1.2M
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $1.2M
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $1.2M
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $0
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $0 · Total revenue $800K
0%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $800K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $800K · Total revenue $800K
100%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $800K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $800K · Total expenses $1.2M
65%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $800K · Prior year $1.2M
-33%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year −$740K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $800K · Expenses $1.2M
-53%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $123K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets −$740K · Total assets $123K
-602%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $123K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Kaj Arno · Reported title CEO · Highest reported compensation $120K · Total expenses $1.2M
10%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $146K · Total expenses $1.2M
12%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Revenue growth -33%——
Legal fee ratio 0.6%——
Accounting fee ratio 2%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$120,394Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Kaj Arno$452,413$120,394$120,582$152,269$123,874
Michael Widenius$146,974————

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Mariadb Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 10Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 10Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Develops, provides free access to, and promotes adoption of open-source database software.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Mariadb Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2023.
01

To continue the development of, free public access to, and adoption of the open source database management software known as "mariadb". Additionally, to promote, foster and facilitate collaboration among developers and users in the continuted development and improvement of, and free access to, mariadb open source software.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest $1.6M$1.6M+101% 990 PDF
FY2023 Viewing $800K$1.2M-33% 990 PDF
FY2022 $1.2M$957K+32% 990 PDF
FY2021 $903K$1.1M+2% 990 PDF
FY2020 $889K$869K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Full filing: Form 990 for FY2023

Every line we hold from the return, cited to its Part and line.
Part IX · Statement of functional expenses $1,226,973 across 10 lines filed
IX-5 Pay of current officers, directors and key staff$112,350
IX-9 Other employee benefits$33,161
IX-11b Legal fees$7,363
IX-11c Accounting fees$20,500
IX-11g Other fees for services$599,151
IX-13 Office expenses$722
IX-14 Information technology$100,598
IX-17 Travel$68,219
IX-24 Other expenses (24a–d)$282,903
IX-24e All other expenses$2,006
IX-25 Total functional expensesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$1,226,973

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Mariadb Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.