Jbs Foundation EIN 38-3713152

Jbs Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Bannockburn, IL. It reported about $382K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $382K in revenue, $501K in expenses, and $3.7M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Bannockburn, IL
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$382KFY2025
Expenses
$501K
Net assets
$3.7M
People
3
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  38-3713152 Private foundation / grantmaker Bannockburn, IL
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Jbs Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Bannockburn, IL. It reported about $382K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Ronald Lavin · President
Money in and out
$382K revenue, $501K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$382K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$501K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$120K
Total assets
3.7M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
430K
in FY2025
Grants made
63grants
total in period
Payout rate
11%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 63 grants · $430K · 2025–2025
ShalvaFY2025$35,000
The ArkFY2025$30,000
Planned ParenthoodFY2025$25,000
Idf Impact ProgramFY2025$25,000
A Safe PlaceFY2025$22,050
Temple Beth ElFY2025$20,000
Jewish Federation of LaFY2025$20,000
Figueroa Wu Family FoundationFY2025$20,000
Deerfield Food PantryFY2025$18,000
Wellspring Health AccessFY2025$15,000
JnfFY2025$12,000
ZakaFY2025$10,000
Sault Area SchoolsFY2025$10,000
North Suburban Legal AidFY2025$10,000
Morraine Township Food PantryFY2025$9,000
LccacFY2025$9,000
HiasFY2025$8,000
Mano a ManoFY2025$7,000
See all 63 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$7K
Median grantPart XV$4K
Largest grantPart XV$35K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$382K
FY2025▼ -16%
Expenses
$501K
FY2025▲ +6%
Total assets
$3.7M
FY2025▼ -3%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$382K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$501K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.7M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CJbs Foundation
EINHdr · item D38-3713152
Principal addressHdr · item CBannockburn, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2005

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer and Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Jbs Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$382K
Total revenueLn 12$382K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.86 Operating & administrative $0.14
Grants & contributions paid86%$430K
Operating & administrative14%$71K
Total functional expensesLn 25$501K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$109K
Total assetsLn 16$3.7M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$3.7M
Months of cash on handcomputed2.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.7M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $382K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $382K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $382K · Prior year $455K
-16%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $305K · FY2025 $382K
+5%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.7M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $382K · Expenses $501K
-31%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.7M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.7M · Total assets $3.7M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Ronald Lavin · Reported title President · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $501K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -16%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$382K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$455K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.6M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$-202K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$936K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$305K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.