Soderstrom Family Charitable Trust FY2023 filing

Morton, IL · Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$202K
-32% vs prior year
Spent
$261K
Net assets
$782
By yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$202K
FY2023▼ -32%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$32K
FY2021$56K
FY2022$296K
FY2023$202K
FY2024$88K
FY2025$100K
Expenses
$261K
FY2023▲ +9%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$883K
FY2021$374K
FY2022$239K
FY2023$261K
FY2024$83K
FY2025$105K
Net assets
$782
FY2023▼ -99%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$321K
FY2021$4K
FY2022$60K
FY2023$782
FY2024$6K
FY2025$951

From the FY2023 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CSoderstrom Family Charitable Trust
EINHdr · item D36-7187407
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFMay 1997
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CMorton, IL
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20Z)

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.93 Operating & administrative $0.07
Grants & contributions paid93%$243K
Operating & administrative7%$19K
Total functional expensesLn 25$261K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Total assets
782
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
243K
in FY2023
Grants made
7grants
total in period
Payout rate
31017%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$782
FY2023▼ -99%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$321K
FY2021$4K
FY2022$60K
FY2023$782
FY2024$6K
FY2025$951
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$0
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
FY2025$0
Total assetsPt II$782

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$782
Total assetsLn 16$782
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$782
Months of cash on handcomputed0.0

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$202K
Total revenueLn 12$202K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $782
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $202K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $202K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $202K · Prior year $296K
-32%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $782 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $202K · Expenses $261K
-30%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $782
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $782 · Total assets $782
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Carl W Soderstrom JR · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $261K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -32%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Soderstrom Family Charitable Trust executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in Morton, IL.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Soderstrom Family Charitable Trust claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 7 grants · $105K · 2025–2025
University of Illinois FoundationFY2025$50,000
Peoria Symphony OrchestraFY2025$28,500
Mayo ClinicFY2025$10,000
Southern Illinois Community FoundationFY2025$10,000
Ravania FestivalFY2025$5,000
Bradley UnviversityFY2025$1,000
Riverview CemeteryFY2025$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$15K
Median grantPart XV$10K
Largest grantPart XV$50K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $100K$105K+13% 990 PDF
FY2024 $88K$83K-56% 990 PDF
FY2023 Viewing $202K$261K-32% 990 PDF
FY2022 $296K$239K+427% 990 PDF
FY2021 $56K$374K+77% 990 PDF
FY2020 $32K$883K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Soderstrom Family Charitable Trust →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.