Dept in FY2020 filing

Mutual-benefit / member-serving Indianapolis, IN EIN 35-6045464
Revenue
$320K
FY2020 · Pt VIII · Ln 12
Expenses
$457K
FY2020 · Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$223K
FY2020 · Pt X · Ln 32
To programs
0%
FY2020 · Pt IX · col B
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$320K
FY2020

Helps veterans support and serve fellow veterans.

Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file. Details →
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list. Details →
Filing up to date?
Last filed FY2023 — 3 yrs ago
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Spent on programs?
0% to programs
Form 990 Part IX, latest filing. Details →
Size and trend
$100K–1M

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 2020 (IRS tax year 2019).


Helps veterans support and serve fellow veterans.

Type
Mutual-benefit / member-serving · Nonprofit
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Website
www.amvets-in.org
Filings
5 on file (2020–2020)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Dept in claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Surplus margin
-43%
revenue over expenses, this year

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Dept in →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$137K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$223K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 38
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 48

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CDept in
EINHdr · item D35-6045464
Principal addressHdr · item CIndianapolis, IN
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.amvets-in.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(19) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 1953

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a8
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b8
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2019); the FY2020 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
SR. Vice Commander
$0Pt VII · Sec A
JR. Vice Commander
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Finance Officer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Judge Advocate
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Inspector General
$0Pt VII · Sec A
National Executive Committeeman
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Dept in executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $353K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2019.
01

Donations to AMVETS Service Foundation

$350Kprogram expense
02

ROTC Awards

$2Kprogram expense
03

Department Golf Tournament

$700program expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$320K
— government grantsLn 1e$202K
Total revenueLn 12$320K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$145K
Total assetsLn 16$223K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$223K
Months of cash on handcomputed3.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $223K · Operating expenses/yr $457K
5.9 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $457K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $457K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $457K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $0 · Solicited contributions $118K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $320K · Total revenue $320K
100%
Government reliance
Government grants $202K · Total revenue $320K
63%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $320K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $320K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $457K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $320K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $223K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $320K · Expenses $457K
-43%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $223K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $223K · Total assets $223K
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $78K · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $223K
35%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Roger Williams · Reported title Commander · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $457K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) — · Total expenses $457K
—
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 0%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$31K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$67K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$50K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$40K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$320K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.