The Allergan Foundation EIN 33-0794475 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

The Allergan Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in North Chicago, IL. It reported about $22.6M in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $22.6M in revenue, $17.0M in expenses.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
North Chicago, IL
Website
www.allerganfoundation.org
Filings
1 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$22.6MFY2020
Expenses
$17.0M
Net assets
$0
People
0
Filings
1
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  33-0794475 Private foundation / grantmaker North Chicago, IL
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Allergan Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$10–100M
What they do
A private foundation based in North Chicago, IL. It reported about $22.6M in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$22.6M revenue, $17.0M expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$22.6M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$17.0M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $5.6M
Grants paid
16.1M
in FY2020
Grants made
316grants
total in period

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 316 grants · $18.4M · 2020–2020
Uci FoundationFY2020$2,000,000
Ny PresbyterianFY2020$900,000
National Society to Prevent BlindnessFY2020$500,000
Direct ReliefCA · FY2020$350,000
The Jed FoundationNY · FY2020$333,333
New York University Langone HospFY2020$300,000
American Society for Dermatologic SurgeryFY2020$250,000
Deedly INCFL · FY2020$225,000
Allergan International FoundationFY2020$200,000
Allergan International FoundationFY2020$200,000
Care About Fibroids INCDC · FY2020$180,000
American Headache SocietyNJ · FY2020$175,000
American Glaucoma FoundationFY2020$175,000
American Foundation for Suicide PreventionFY2020$175,000
Uci FoundationFY2020$165,000
See all 316 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV146
Average grantPart XV$58K
Median grantPart XV$25K
Largest grantPart XV$2.0M
Top cause focusNTEEHealth Care (7%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Total revenue
$22.6M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$17.0M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$0

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Allergan Foundation
EINHdr · item D33-0794475
Principal addressHdr · item CNorth Chicago, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.allerganfoundation.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$20.0M · 88%
Investment income$2.6M · 12%
Contributions & grants88%$20.0M
Investment income12%$2.6M
Total revenueLn 12$22.6M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.95 Operating & administrative $0.05
Grants & contributions paid95%$16.1M
Operating & administrative5%$908K
Total functional expensesLn 25$17.0M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$0
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $0
Foundation payout rate (grants ÷ total assets); 5% minimum-distribution rule
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $22.6M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $22.6M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $22.6M · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $22.6M · Expenses $17.0M
+25%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $0
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $0
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $17.0M
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2020 (Latest)$22.6M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.