E & M Charitable Fund FY2022 filing

Chicago, IL · Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers

✓ Tax-deductible Latest data FY2022
Revenue
$25K
▲ +51% vs prior year
Spent
$28K
Net assets
$421K
By yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$25K
FY2022▲ +51%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$17K
FY2022$25K
FY2023$15K
FY2024$15K
FY2025$141K
FY2025$949
Expenses
$28K
FY2022▲ +3%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2021$27K
FY2022$28K
FY2023$30K
FY2024$26K
FY2025$32K
FY2025$505K
Net assets
$421K
FY2022▼ -0.7%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$424K
FY2022$421K
FY2023$406K
FY2024$395K
FY2025$503K
FY2025$0
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 2022 (IRS tax year 2021).

Status and standing

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Size and trend
<$100K
↑ +51% vs prior year
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CE & M Charitable Fund
EINHdr · item D31-6649883
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2000
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CChicago, IL
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)

Where the money goes

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.54 Operating & administrative $0.46
Grants & contributions paid54%$15K
Operating & administrative46%$13K
Total functional expensesLn 25$28K

Financial health

Total assets
421K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
15K
in FY2022
Grants made
4grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$421K
FY2022▼ -0.7%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2021$424K
FY2022$421K
FY2023$406K
FY2024$395K
FY2025$503K
FY2025Not on file
Total liabilities
$0
FY2022
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
FY2025$0
FY2025Not on file
Total assetsPt II$421K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$32K
Total assetsLn 16$421K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$421K
Months of cash on handcomputed13.4

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$25K
Total revenueLn 12$25K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $421K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $25K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $25K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $25K · Prior year $17K
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $421K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $25K · Expenses $28K
-11%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $421K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $421K · Total assets $421K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $28K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 51%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See E & M Charitable Fund executive salaries →

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Mission and programs

A private foundation based in Chicago, IL.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until E & M Charitable Fund claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 4 grants · $502K · 2025–2025
Casa De Los Ninos INCFY2025$125,588
American Red CrossFY2025$125,588
Salvation ArmyFY2025$125,588
Planned Parenthood Federation of AmericaFY2025$125,588

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$126K
Median grantPart XV$126K
Largest grantPart XV$126K

Filing history

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 $141K$32K+858% 990 PDF
FY2024 $15K$26K-0.5% 990 PDF
FY2023 $15K$30K-42% 990 PDF
FY2022 Viewing $25K$28K+51% 990 PDF
FY2021 $17K$27K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like E & M Charitable Fund →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.