Heymann Foundation FY2021 filing

Claim it free, then get the verified mark Claim this org →
EIN 23-7397293 Private foundation / grantmaker Lafayette, LA
Form 990 (PDF)

Is this your organization? Claim it free

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$232K
FY2021
Expenses
$237K
FY2021

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 2021 (IRS tax year 2020).


A private foundation based in Lafayette, LA. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $232K in revenue, $237K in expenses, and $2.3M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Lafayette, LA
Website
www.heymannfoundation.com
Filings
5 on file (2021–2021)
Revenue
$232KFY2021
Expenses
$237K
Net assets
$2.3M
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Heymann Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Lafayette, LA.
Money in and out
$232K revenue, $237K expenses
Bottom line
—

What Funders Ask

6 questions, answered from this org's own filings

Will my donation be tax-deductible?

GOOD

Yes — A charitable, religious, educational, scientific, or literary organization. Contributions are generally tax-deductible for donors.

IRS Business Master File records this organization as tax-exempt with deductible contributions. See detail →

Can I donate to this org right now?

GOOD

No revocation on IRS record

This EIN does not appear on the IRS auto-revocation list. See detail →

Is this organization up to date?

GOOD

Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)

Most recent Form 990 on file is for fiscal year 2024 (2 years ago). See detail →

Is it receiving grants from reputable foundations?

GOOD

1 funder — Pennsylvania Trapper Assn INC

1 distinct foundation funder(s) on file, $7K received in the most recent year with grants. See detail →

How is the money spent?

NEUTRAL

Not on file

Program vs. overhead split is not on file for this EIN's most recent filing. See detail →

What's its financial size and trend?

NEUTRAL

$100K–1M

Revenue band $100K–1M. Not enough years on file for a trend. See detail →

Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$232K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$237K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$5K
Total assets
2.6M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
77K
in FY2021
Grants made
15grants
total in period
Payout rate
3%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 15 grants · $90K · 2024–2024
Alzheimer's AssociationFY2024$27,500
American Red CrossFY2024$13,500
Fry Spring New CenturyFY2024$7,500
Second Harvest Food BankFY2024$7,000
Louisiana SPCAFY2024$5,000
Lafayette Alzheimers AssociationFY2024$5,000
Episcopal School of AcadianaFY2024$5,000
Northshore Food BankLA · FY2024$1,000
Miles Perret Cancer CenterFY2024$1,000
International Neighbors of CharlottesvilleFY2024$1,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV6
Average grantPart XV$6K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$28K
Top cause focusNTEEArts & Culture (13%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$2.6M
FY2021
Total liabilities
$290K
FY2021
Total assetsPt II$2.6M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CHeymann Foundation
EINHdr · item D23-7397293
Principal addressHdr · item CLafayette, LA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.heymannfoundation.com
State of legal domicileHdr · item MLA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 1976

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Heymann Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$232K
Contributions & grants$100
Total revenueLn 12$232K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.32 Operating & administrative $0.68
Grants & contributions paid32%$77K
Operating & administrative68%$160K
Total functional expensesLn 25$237K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$29K
Total assetsLn 16$2.6M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$290K
Total net assetsLn 32$2.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed1.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $2.6M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $232K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $232K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $232K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $2.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $232K · Expenses $237K
-2%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $2.6M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $2.3M · Total assets $2.6M
89%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $237K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$429K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$160K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$158K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$385K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$232K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.