The Resource Foundation INC

Greenwich, CT · Private foundation / grantmaker

✓ Tax-deductible Latest data FY2024
Revenue
$909K
▲ +36% vs prior year
Spent
$1.4M
Net assets
$15.0M

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2024 (IRS tax year 2024).

Status and standing

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Size and trend
$100K–1M
↑ +36% vs prior year
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CThe Resource Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D22-2870501
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 1988
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CGreenwich, CT
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit

Where the money goes

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.72 Operating & administrative $0.28
Grants & contributions paid72%$1.0M
Operating & administrative28%$395K
Total functional expensesLn 25$1.4M

Financial health

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$909K
FY2024▲ +36%
Expenses
$1.4M
FY2024▲ +18%
Total assets
15.0M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
1.0M
in FY2024
Grants made
70grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$15.0M
FY2024▼ -3%
Total liabilities
$28K
FY2024▲ +9%
Total assetsPt II$15.0M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.6M
Total assetsLn 16$15.0M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$28K
Total net assetsLn 32$15.0M
Months of cash on handcomputed13.4

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$909K
Other revenue$417
Total revenueLn 12$909K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $15.0M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $909K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $909K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $909K · Prior year $668K
+36%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $1.9M · FY2024 $909K
-16%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $15.0M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $909K · Expenses $1.4M
-56%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $15.0M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $15.0M · Total assets $15.0M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Alison J Allen · Reported title CHAIRMAN · Highest reported compensation $138K · Total expenses $1.4M
10%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 36%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$138,102Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$61,000Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2021
Alison J Allen$138,102$130,049
Alan D Barry$61,000—

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See The Resource Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Mission and programs

A private foundation based in Greenwich, CT.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Resource Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 70 grants · $1.0M · 2024–2024
Family Centers INCCT · FY2024$208,980
Vaughn CollegeFY2024$100,000
Kids in CrisisFY2024$68,250
Horizons at Brunswick SchoolFY2024$44,789
Greenwich Alliance for EducationFY2024$43,000
The Greenwich Land Trust INCCT · FY2024$30,000
The Salvation ArmyFY2024$27,625
Waterside School INCCT · FY2024$26,250
River HouseFY2024$25,000
Greenwich Dept of Human Services FundFY2024$25,000
Studio InstituteFY2024$21,000
Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art INCFY2024$21,000
Radio Wnyc NyprFY2024$15,766
Transportation Association of GreenwichFY2024$15,750
Puppies Behind Bars INCNY · FY2024$15,750
Hill HouseFY2024$15,750
See all 70 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV30
Average grantPart XV$15K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$209K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (10%)

Filing history

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest Viewing $909K$1.4M+36% 990 PDF
FY2023 $668K$1.2M-30% 990 PDF
FY2022 $955K$1.2M-69% 990 PDF
FY2021 $3.1M$1.1M+66% 990 PDF
FY2020 $1.9M$1.1M 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.