Barton Charitable Foundation FY2021 filing

Claim it free, then get the verified mark Claim this org →
EIN 20-8022889 Private foundation / grantmaker Bellaire, MI NTEE T20
Form 990 (PDF)

Is this your organization? Claim it free

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$195K
FY2021▲ +686%
Expenses
$96K
FY2021▲ +30%

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2021 (IRS tax year 2021).


A private foundation based in Bellaire, MI. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $195K in revenue, $96K in expenses, and $596K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Bellaire, MI
Filings
6 on file (2020–2021)
Revenue
$195KFY2021
Expenses
$96K
Net assets
$596K
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Barton Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Bellaire, MI.
Money in and out
$195K revenue, $96K expenses
Bottom line
—

What Funders Ask

6 questions, answered from this org's own filings

Will my donation be tax-deductible?

GOOD

Yes — A charitable, religious, educational, scientific, or literary organization. Contributions are generally tax-deductible for donors.

IRS Business Master File records this organization as tax-exempt with deductible contributions. See detail →

Can I donate to this org right now?

GOOD

No revocation on IRS record

This EIN does not appear on the IRS auto-revocation list. See detail →

Is this organization up to date?

GOOD

Yes — filed FY2025

Most recent Form 990 on file is for fiscal year 2025 (1 year ago). See detail →

Is it receiving grants from reputable foundations?

NEUTRAL

No foundation grants on file

No Schedule I/Schedule R grants from other foundations are on file for this EIN. See detail →

How is the money spent?

NEUTRAL

Not on file

Program vs. overhead split is not on file for this EIN's most recent filing. See detail →

What's its financial size and trend?

NEUTRAL

$100K–1M · ↑ +686% vs prior year

Revenue band $100K–1M, +686% versus the prior filing year (up). See detail →

Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$195K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$96K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$596K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $99K
Total assets
596K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
68K
in FY2021
Grants made
22grants
total in period
Payout rate
11%
of assets (5% rule)

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Barton Charitable Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 22 grants · $62K · 2025–2025
Bellaire Youth InitiativeFY2025$17,000
The General's RedoubtFY2025$5,000
Churchill Center and SchoolFY2025$3,101
Churchill Center & SchoolFY2025$3,000
St Peter's ChurchFY2025$2,500
Forest Park Forever INCMO · FY2025$2,500
MicdsFY2025$2,500
St Louis Art MuseumFY2025$2,500
Danforth Plant Science CenterFY2025$2,500
Maryville UniversityFY2025$2,000
Mo Botanical GardenFY2025$2,000
Bellaire Youth IniativeFY2025$2,000
Churchill Center and SchoolFY2025$2,000
St Louis Women of AchievementFY2025$1,250
PBSFY2025$1,000
St Louis ZooFY2025$1,000
See all 22 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV4
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$17K
Top cause focusNTEEColleges & Universities (5%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$596K
FY2021▲ +20%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2021
Total assetsPt II$596K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CBarton Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D20-8022889
Principal addressHdr · item CBellaire, MI
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMI
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 2009

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Barton Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$195K
Total revenueLn 12$195K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.71 Operating & administrative $0.29
Grants & contributions paid71%$68K
Operating & administrative29%$28K
Total functional expensesLn 25$96K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$9K
Total assetsLn 16$596K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$596K
Months of cash on handcomputed1.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $596K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $195K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $195K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $195K · Prior year $25K
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $596K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $195K · Expenses $96K
+51%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $596K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $596K · Total assets $596K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $96K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 686%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$157K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$83K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$8K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$199K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$195K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$25K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.