The Kivowitz Charitable Foundation FY2020 filing

Victoria, TX · Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$456K
Spent
$549K
Net assets
$50K
By yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$456K
FY2020
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$456K
FY2021$538K
FY2022$308K
FY2023$342K
FY2024$375K
Expenses
$549K
FY2020
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$549K
FY2021$508K
FY2022$369K
FY2023$356K
FY2024$333K
Net assets
$50K
FY2020
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$50K
FY2021$80K
FY2022$18K
FY2023$4K
FY2024$45K

From the FY2020 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CThe Kivowitz Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D20-0101532
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2003
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CVictoria, TX
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.99 Operating & administrative $0.01
Grants & contributions paid99%$545K
Operating & administrative1%$4K
Total functional expensesLn 25$549K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Total assets
55K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
545K
in FY2020
Grants made
29grants
total in period
Payout rate
999%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$55K
FY2020
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$55K
FY2021$80K
FY2022$18K
FY2023$4K
FY2024$45K
Total liabilities
$5K
FY2020
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$5K
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
Total assetsPt II$55K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$47K
Total assetsLn 16$55K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$5K
Total net assetsLn 32$50K
Months of cash on handcomputed1.0

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$456K
Investment income$4
Total revenueLn 12$456K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $55K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $456K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $456K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $456K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $50K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $456K · Expenses $549K
-21%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $55K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $50K · Total assets $55K
91%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $549K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See The Kivowitz Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in Victoria, TX.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Kivowitz Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 29 grants · $330K · 2024–2024
UCLAFY2024$125,000
The Wallis OrganizationFY2024$50,000
Race to Erase MsCA · FY2024$25,000
Wallis Annenberg Cnt for PerformingFY2024$25,000
American Red CrossFY2024$20,000
The Cuddly GroupFY2024$10,328
School Year Abroad INCMA · FY2024$10,000
University of Texas at DallasFY2024$10,000
Vogel AlcoveTX · FY2024$10,000
Schreiner University Scholarship FuFY2024$5,000
Crete AcademyCA · FY2024$3,000
Genesis Womens' ShelterFY2024$2,000
SMU Tate LectureFY2024$1,404
UCLA Chancellor's SocietyFY2024$1,000
Pilots to the Rescue INCNY · FY2024$1,000
See all 29 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV13
Average grantPart XV$11K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$125K
Top cause focusNTEEAnimals (21%)

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest $375K$333K+10% 990 PDF
FY2023 $342K$356K+11% 990 PDF
FY2022 $308K$369K-43% 990 PDF
FY2021 $538K$508K+18% 990 PDF
FY2020 Viewing $456K$549K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like The Kivowitz Charitable Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.