Peter K Barker Foundation

Private foundation / grantmaker Montecito, CA EIN 13-3198247
Revenue
$493K
▼ -6%
FY2025 · Pt VIII · Ln 12
Expenses
$294K
▼ -8%
FY2025 · Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.1M
FY2025 · Pt X · Ln 32
To programs
Not filed
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$493K
FY2025▼ -6%
Expenses
$294K
FY2025▼ -8%

A private foundation based in Montecito, CA.

Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Details →
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Details →
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Details →
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Details →
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Details →
Size and trend
$100K–1M
↓ -6% vs prior year
Details →

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2025 (IRS tax year 2025).


A private foundation based in Montecito, CA.

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Montecito, CA
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Peter K Barker Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Total assets
4.1M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
251K
in FY2025
Grants made
15grants
total in period
Payout rate
6%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 15 grants · $251K · 2025–2025
Our Lady of Mt Carmel ChurchFY2025$75,000
Claremont McKenna CollegeFY2025$60,000
Pebble Beach Company FoundationFY2025$50,000
J Paul Getty TrustFY2025$25,000
Huntington LibraryFY2025$12,500
Center for the ArtsFY2025$10,000
Montecito Retirement AssocFY2025$5,000
Catholic Charities of Santa BarbaraFY2025$5,000
Del Monte Forest ConservancyFY2025$2,500
Pebble Beach Company FoundationFY2025$1,470
Together in Mission Los AngelesFY2025$1,000
St Patrick's School Caribad CaFY2025$1,000
Santa Barbara Art MuseumFY2025$1,000
Montecito Community FoundationFY2025$1,000
Chp Foundation CaliforniaFY2025$1,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$17K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$75K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$4.1M
FY2025▲ +5%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total assetsPt II$4.1M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CPeter K Barker Foundation
EINHdr · item D13-3198247
Principal addressHdr · item CMontecito, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFApr 1984

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Trustee/Part-Time
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee/Part-Time
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Peter K Barker Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$491K
Other revenue$2K
Total revenueLn 12$493K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.86 Operating & administrative $0.14
Grants & contributions paid86%$251K
Operating & administrative14%$43K
Total functional expensesLn 25$294K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$296K
Total assetsLn 16$4.1M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$4.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed12.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $4.1M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $493K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $493K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $493K · Prior year $523K
-6%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $254K · FY2025 $493K
+14%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $493K · Expenses $294K
+40%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $4.1M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4.1M · Total assets $4.1M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Peter K Barker · Reported title TRUSTEE/PART-TIME · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $294K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -6%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$493K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$523K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$92K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$-3K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$937K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$254K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.