Margulf Foundation FY2021 filing

Tax-deductible

Glendale, CO501(c)(3)EIN 13-2927245

501(c)(3) charity; gifts are tax-deductible.
$273K paid to officers and key staff.
Status: IRS Pub. 78 · Pay: Part VII

Before you give

FY2021 · Form 990-PFIndependent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
Is it a real charity?
501(c)(3)
not on the IRS revocation list
Looks good: listed by the IRS and not on the revocation list.
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Are gifts tax-deductible?
Yes
Donations are tax-deductible
Looks good: the IRS lists gifts to it as deductible.
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Is it filing on time?
FY2024
latest Form 990-PF
Looks good: the latest return is for FY2024, 2 tax years back; within 2 years looks good.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Is it financially stable?
0 of 5
years in the black
Concern: 5 of the last 5 filings show a deficit.
990-PF Pt I · 5 filings
What are leaders paid?
$273K
to officers and key staff · 2% of spending
Looks good: leaders' pay is 2% of spending; 15% or less looks good.
990-PF Pt VIII
Do they have reserves?
10 mo
of spending, in cash
Looks good: 9.7 months of spending in cash; 3 or more looks good.
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Do they carry debt?
$107K
liabilities
Looks good: debts are 0% of assets; 50% or less looks good.
990-PF Pt II
Looks goodWorth a lookConcernTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$8.1M
+327% vs prior year
Spent
$14.0M
Net assets
$278.8M
By yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$8.1M
FY2021▲ +327%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020−$3.6M
FY2021$8.1M
FY2022$12.9M
FY2023$5.3M
FY2024$5.4M
FY2024$14.0M
Expenses
$14.0M
FY2021▲ +50%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$9.4M
FY2021$14.0M
FY2022$13.2M
FY2023$11.7M
FY2024$14.2M
FY2024$14.2M
Net assets
$278.8M
FY2021▲ +10%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$253.5M
FY2021$278.8M
FY2022$241.6M
FY2023$249.5M
FY2024$279.6M
FY2024$287.4M

From the FY2021 Form 990 (year ending November 2021) · figures checked against the IRS filing · see the original

Give Claim
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CMargulf Foundation
EINHdr · item D13-2927245
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 1978
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CGlendale, CO
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
WebsiteHdr · item Jmargulffoundation.org

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.86 Operating & administrative $0.14
Grants & contributions paid86%$12.1M
Operating & administrative14%$1.9M
Total functional expensesLn 25$14.0M

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Total assets
278.9M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
12.1M
in FY2021
Grants made
124grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$278.9M
FY2021▲ +10%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$253.6M
FY2021$278.9M
FY2022$241.7M
FY2023$249.6M
FY2024$279.8M
FY2024$287.6M
Total liabilities
$107K
FY2021▲ +58%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$68K
FY2021$107K
FY2022$103K
FY2023$137K
FY2024$267K
FY2024$184K
Total assetsPt II$278.9M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$11.4M
Total assetsLn 16$278.9M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$107K
Total net assetsLn 32$278.8M
Months of cash on handcomputed9.7

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$7.6M · 95%
Contributions & grants$415K · 5%
Investment income95%$7.6M
Contributions & grants5%$415K
Total revenueLn 12$8.1M

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $278.9M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $8.1M
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $8.1M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $8.1M · Prior year −$3.6M
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $278.8M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $8.1M · Expenses $14.0M
-74%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $278.9M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $278.8M · Total assets $278.9M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Elizabeth Aybar Conti · Reported title EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $273K · Total expenses $14.0M
2%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 327%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2020); the FY2021 filing did not itemize Part VII
Executive Director
$273,250Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer and Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Elizabeth Aybar Conti$376,735$352,467$332,333$296,250$273,250
Sonya Marques-Correia$308,542$284,738$255,904$222,458—

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Margulf Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in Glendale, CO.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Margulf Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 124 grants · $10.8M · 2024–2024
NewschoolsFY2024$760,000
ImmschoolsFY2024$360,000
Collaborative Healing Initiative Within Communities (chic)FY2024$360,000
Valley SettlementFY2024$310,000
TranscendFY2024$310,000
Rise ColoradoFY2024$310,000
Pahara Institute (now Lone Rock Foundation)FY2024$310,000
Colorado Education InitiativeFY2024$310,000
Boys and Girls Clubs of the San Luis ValleyFY2024$310,000
Surge InstituteFY2024$260,000
Revx (program of Transcend)FY2024$260,000
Moonshot EdventuresFY2024$260,000
LearnerstudioFY2024$260,000
GriptapeFY2024$260,000
Camelback VenturesFY2024$260,000
40FY2024$260,000
Youth Empowerment Broadcasting Organization (yebo)FY2024$205,000
ReschoolFY2024$205,000
See all 124 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$87K
Median grantPart XV$55K
Largest grantPart XV$760K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 $5.4M$14.2M+2% 990 PDF
FY2023 $5.3M$11.7M-59% 990 PDF
FY2022 $12.9M$13.2M+61% 990 PDF
FY2021 Viewing $8.1M$14.0M+327% 990 PDF
FY2020 −$3.6M$9.4M 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.