American Postal Workers Union Local

East Hartford, CT · Mutual-benefit / member-serving · Since 1976

! Not tax-deductible Latest data FY2025
Revenue
$378K
▼ -7% vs prior year
Spent
$326K
Net assets
$1.1M

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2025 (IRS tax year 2025).

Status and standing

Tax-deductible?
No
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Size and trend
$100K–1M
↓ -7% vs prior year
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CAmerican Postal Workers Union Local
EINHdr · item D06-6068671
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(5) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 1973
Year of formationHdr · item L1976
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CEast Hartford, CT
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit

Financial health

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$378K
FY2025▼ -7%
Expenses
$326K
FY2025▲ +20%
Surplus margin
+14%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -59% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Total assets
$1.1M
FY2025▲ +5%
Total liabilities
$10K
FY2025▲ +109%
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$52K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$1.1M
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B—
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 313
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 413

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.1M
Total assetsLn 16$1.1M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$10K
Total net assetsLn 32$1.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed41.6

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$350K · 93%
Investment income$28K · 7%
Contributions & grants93%$350K
Investment income7%$28K
Total revenueLn 12$378K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $1.1M · Operating expenses/yr $326K
41.6 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $326K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $326K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $326K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $360K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $350K · Total revenue $378K
93%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $378K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $378K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $28K · Total revenue $378K
+7%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $326K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $378K · Prior year $405K
-7%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $285K · FY2025 $378K
+6%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $378K · Expenses $326K
+14%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.1M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.1M · Total assets $1.1M
99%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $1.1M
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Stuart Cook · Reported title PRES · Highest reported compensation $21K · Total expenses $326K
6%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $142K · Total expenses $326K
43%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -7%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$20,504Pt VII · Sec A
$18,794Pt VII · Sec A
$14,297Pt VII · Sec A
$9,815Pt VII · Sec A
Craft Direct
$7,812Pt VII · Sec A
Craft Direct
$6,462Pt VII · Sec A
Fin. Sec.
$6,412Pt VII · Sec A
Craft Direct
$5,785Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 8 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Jan White——$27,364$17,501$17,926
Stuart Cook$20,504————
Franklin Hunter$18,794————
Franklin Hunter—$14,858$7,856$8,934$9,112
Alexandra Caruso$14,297————
Stuart Cook—$12,378$4,187$3,284$3,680
Stanley Sanders$9,815————
David Cruz$7,812————

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See American Postal Workers Union Local executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a13
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b13
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

American Postal Workers Union Local is a member-serving organization based in East Hartford, CT, formed in 1976.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until American Postal Workers Union Local claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Filing history

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest Viewing $378K$326K-7% 990 PDF
FY2024 $405K$271K+17% 990 PDF
FY2023 $347K$205K+11% 990 PDF
FY2022 $313K$210K+1% 990 PDF
FY2021 $310K$153K+9% 990 PDF
FY2020 $285K$135K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like American Postal Workers Union Local →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.