Rosamond Thaxter Foundation

Private foundation / grantmaker Portland, ME EIN 01-6019476
Revenue
$131K
▼ -4%
FY2025 · Pt VIII · Ln 12
Expenses
$131K
▲ +11%
FY2025 · Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.3M
FY2025 · Pt X · Ln 32
To programs
Not filed
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$131K
FY2025▼ -4%
Expenses
$131K
FY2025▲ +11%

A private foundation based in Portland, ME.

Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Details →
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Details →
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Details →
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Details →
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Details →
Size and trend
$100K–1M
↓ -4% vs prior year
Details →

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2025 (IRS tax year 2025).


A private foundation based in Portland, ME.

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Portland, ME
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Rosamond Thaxter Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Total assets
1.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
96K
in FY2025
Grants made
32grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 32 grants · $96K · 2025–2025
MainspringFY2025$7,500
Girl Scouts of the Green & WhiteFY2025$7,500
Lovering Health CenterFY2025$5,000
Fair TideFY2025$5,000
Footprints Food PantryFY2025$5,000
Kittery Land TrustFY2025$5,000
Conservation Law FoundationFY2025$4,500
Seacoast Community SchoolFY2025$3,500
The Telling RoomFY2025$3,000
Players Ring TheatreFY2025$3,000
White Pine ProgramsFY2025$3,000
The Dance HallFY2025$3,000
Gundalow CompanyFY2025$3,000
Portsmouth Historical SocietyFY2025$3,000
Portsmouth Symphony OrchestraFY2025$2,500
Black Heritage Trail of NHFY2025$2,500
Ice Dance InternationalFY2025$2,500
HavenFY2025$2,500
See all 32 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$8K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$1.3M
FY2025+0.5%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total assetsPt II$1.3M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CRosamond Thaxter Foundation
EINHdr · item D01-6019476
Principal addressHdr · item CPortland, ME
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MME
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 1964

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$18,161Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 5 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023
Hm Payson Co$18,161$17,555$15,804
Melissa Paly—$3,972$3,491
Beverly a Daniel—$3,972$3,491
Joan Rice—$934$3,491
John Rice—$1,725—

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Rosamond Thaxter Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$129K · 98%
Contributions & grants$2K · 2%
Investment income98%$129K
Contributions & grants2%$2K
Total revenueLn 12$131K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.74 Operating & administrative $0.26
Grants & contributions paid74%$96K
Operating & administrative26%$35K
Total functional expensesLn 25$131K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$88K
Total assetsLn 16$1.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed8.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $131K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $131K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $131K · Prior year $136K
-4%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $78K · FY2025 $131K
+11%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $131K · Expenses $131K
>-0.01%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.3M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.3M · Total assets $1.3M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Hm Payson Co · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $18K · Total expenses $131K
14%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -4%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$131K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$136K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$59K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$102K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$169K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$78K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.