Techlaw Group INC

Claim it free, then get the verified mark Claim this org →
EIN 75-2147172 Business league / trade association Knoxville, TN
Form 990 (PDF)

Is this your organization? Claim it free

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$251K
FY2025▲ +41%
Expenses
$267K
FY2025▼ -21%

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2025 (IRS tax year 2025).


Connects law firms to serve technology-related legal needs globally. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $251K in revenue, $267K in expenses, and $457K in net assets.Pt I

Founded
1986
Type
Business league / trade association · Nonprofit
Location
Knoxville, TN
Website
www.techlaw.org
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$251KFY2025
Expenses
$267K
Net assets
$457K
People
30
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Techlaw Group INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Connects law firms to serve technology-related legal needs globally.
Leadership
Raphael De Cunto · President
Money in and out
$251K revenue, $267K expenses
Bottom line
-6% operating surplus

What Funders Ask

6 questions, answered from this org's own filings

Will my donation be tax-deductible?

NEUTRAL

Not on file

IRS deductibility code is not on file for this EIN. See detail →

Can I donate to this org right now?

GOOD

No revocation on IRS record

This EIN does not appear on the IRS auto-revocation list. See detail →

Is this organization up to date?

GOOD

Yes — filed FY2025

Most recent Form 990 on file is for fiscal year 2025 (1 year ago). See detail →

Is it receiving grants from reputable foundations?

NEUTRAL

No foundation grants on file

No Schedule I/Schedule R grants from other foundations are on file for this EIN. See detail →

How is the money spent?

GOOD

95% to programs

95% of total functional expenses went to program services in the most recent filing (Form 990 Part IX); the rest is overhead and fundraising. See detail →

What's its financial size and trend?

NEUTRAL

$100K–1M · ↑ +41% vs prior year

Revenue band $100K–1M, +41% versus the prior filing year (up). See detail →

Membership & operating revenue · FY2025
Total revenue
$251K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$267K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$457K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$16K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.95
Operating surplus
-6%
revenue over expenses▲ +93% vs prior filing year
Earned revenue
0%
of revenue from program services & dues

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Techlaw Group INC →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Total assets
$457K
FY2025▼ -3%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$16K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$457K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B95%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 328
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 428

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CTechlaw Group INC
EINHdr · item D75-2147172
Principal addressHdr · item CKnoxville, TN
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.techlaw.org
Year of formationHdr · item L1986
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(6) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFApr 1990

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a28
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b28
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Techlaw Group INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $255K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2025.
01

Since 1986, techlaw group, inc. ("techlaw") has built an international network of major law firms committed to serving the legal needs of businesses, institutions, and individuals involved with technology.

$255Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$240K · 95%
Investment income$11K · 5%
Contributions & grants95%$240K
Investment income5%$11K
Total revenueLn 12$251K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.95
Program services95%$255K
Total functional expensesLn 25$267K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$457K
Total assetsLn 16$457K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$457K
Months of cash on handcomputed20.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $457K · Operating expenses/yr $267K
20.5 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $267K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $267K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $267K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $192K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $240K · Total revenue $251K
95%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $251K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $251K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $11K · Total revenue $251K
+5%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $267K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $251K · Prior year $179K
+41%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $189K · FY2025 $251K
+6%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $457K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $251K · Expenses $267K
-6%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $457K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $457K · Total assets $457K
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $457K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Raphael De Cunto · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $267K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) — · Total expenses $267K
—
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 95%——
Revenue growth 41%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$251K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$179K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$171K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$520 revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$54 revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$189K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.