Maxine E Spitler Foundation % Rita M Kocher FY2023 filing

Private foundation / grantmaker Newton, IL EIN 36-4155172 NTEE T22Z
Revenue
$9K
▼ -48%
FY2023 · Pt VIII · Ln 12
Expenses
$38K
▼ -11%
FY2023 · Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$618K
FY2023 · Pt X · Ln 32
To programs
Not filed
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$9K
FY2023▼ -48%
Expenses
$38K
FY2023▼ -11%

A private foundation based in Newton, IL.

Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file. Details →
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list. Details →
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Size and trend
<$100K
↓ -48% vs prior year Details →

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 2023 (IRS tax year 2022).


A private foundation based in Newton, IL.

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Newton, IL
Filings
5 on file (2021–2023)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Maxine E Spitler Foundation % Rita M Kocher claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Total assets
650K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
32K
in FY2023
Grants made
16grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Maxine E Spitler Foundation % Rita M Kocher →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 16 grants · $33K · 2025–2025
St Thomas SchoolFY2025$5,790
Kid Shopping Day of Lawrence CountyFY2025$5,000
Saved by Grace Animal RescueFY2025$2,900
Lawrence Co Humane SocietyFY2025$2,900
Jasper County Boys & Girls ParkFY2025$2,729
Jasper County Cusd1FY2025$2,590
Jasper County Cusd1 Read ProgramFY2025$2,000
Lawrence County Cusd 20FY2025$1,900
Jasper County Health DepartmentFY2025$1,239
Lawrence County Health DeptFY2025$1,000
Erba Jasper County OfficeFY2025$1,000
Jasper County Cusd1FY2025$999
Lawrence County Arts CouncilFY2025$770
Red Hill Cusd10FY2025$660
Red Hill Cusd10FY2025$588
Claws and PawsFY2025$460

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$2K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$6K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$650K
FY2023▼ -5%
Total liabilities
$32K
FY2023▼ -11%
Total assetsPt II$650K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CMaxine E Spitler Foundation % Rita M Kocher
EINHdr · item D36-4155172
Principal addressHdr · item CNewton, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 1997

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Maxine E Spitler Foundation % Rita M Kocher executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$9K
Total revenueLn 12$9K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.85 Operating & administrative $0.15
Grants & contributions paid85%$32K
Operating & administrative15%$6K
Total functional expensesLn 25$38K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$143K
Total assetsLn 16$650K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$32K
Total net assetsLn 32$618K
Months of cash on handcomputed45.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $650K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $9K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $9K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $9K · Prior year $18K
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $618K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $9K · Expenses $38K
-310%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $650K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $618K · Total assets $650K
95%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $38K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -48%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025$55K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$24K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$9K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$18K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$47K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.