Guatemalan Student Support Group

Carrboro, NC · Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Education

✓ Tax-deductible Latest data FY2025
Revenue
$33K
▼ -12% vs prior year
Net assets
$127K

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2025 (IRS tax year 2025).

Status and standing

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Foundation funders?
1 funder — Fidelity Investments Charitable Gift Fund
$8K in the latest grant year.
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Size and trend
<$100K
↓ -12% vs prior year
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CGuatemalan Student Support Group
EINHdr · item D20-0541307
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2004
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-EZ
Principal addressHdr · item CCarrboro, NC
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B82)
WebsiteHdr · item Jgssg-usa.org

Financial health

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$33K
FY2025▼ -12%
Expenses
—
FY2025
Operating runway
36.7mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▲ +6% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
-26%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -403% vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
-14%
avg. annual growth over 5 years▲ +2% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-EZ
Total assets
—
FY2025
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19—
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16—
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B—
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16—
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$127K

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$33K
Total revenueLn 12$33K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $127K · Operating expenses/yr $41K
36.7 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $33K · Total revenue $33K
100%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $33K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $108 · Total revenue $33K
+0.3%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $41K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $33K · Prior year $37K
-12%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $68K · FY2025 $33K
-14%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $127K · Beginning of year $114K
+12%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $33K · Expenses $41K
-26%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $0 · Total assets $127K
0%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $127K · Total assets $127K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Bayron Cap · Reported title Trustee and Assistant Director for Guatemala · Highest reported compensation $6K · Total expenses $41K
15%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $0 · Total expenses $41K
0%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -12%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Trustee and Assistant Director for Guatemala
$6,090Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee and Associate Director for Guatemala
$5,537Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee and Board Chairperson
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee and Board Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee (resigned in 20250
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Bayron Cap’s $6K as Trustee and Assistant Director for Guatemala is at the 26th percentile of top reported officer pay among 146 <$100K education nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Bayron Cap$6,090$4,412$4,601$1,592$594$3,834
Jorge Paque$5,537$4,421$4,322$4,177$3,833$4,472

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Guatemalan Student Support Group executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Mission and programs

Provides educational opportunities for Guatemalan children and young adults in impoverished communities.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Guatemalan Student Support Group claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $53K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2021.
01

Program 2

Promising impoverished Guatemalan youth identified in Program 1, or by Board members, for their leadership and academic potential will be supported for advanced studies at Guatemalan high schools (diversificado) and universities. Opportunities for short periods of study in the USA will be provided if organizational resources permit.

$47Kprogram expense
02

Program 1

Guatemalan Student Support Group (GSSG) forms partnerships with other like-minded organizations to build new, or to enhance existing, primary (primaria) and middle (basico) schools in villages and towns in Guatemala; supplying these students with educational materials and supplementing teachers' salaries in schools to attract and retain…

$6Kprogram expense
03

In 2021 there were only two Program Service areas.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$8K

Filing history

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest Viewing $33K—-12% 990 PDF
FY2024 $37K—-37% 990 PDF
FY2023 $60K—+13% 990 PDF
FY2022 $53K—-17% 990 PDF
FY2021 $64K$63K-6% 990 PDF
FY2020 $68K$63K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Guatemalan Student Support Group →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.