Morris Foundation INC EIN 13-4047659 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Morris Foundation INC FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in New York, NY. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $-22K in revenue, $65K in expenses, and $706K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
New York, NY
Filings
5 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$-22KFY2020
Expenses
$65K
Net assets
$706K
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  13-4047659 Private foundation / grantmaker New York, NY
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Morris Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in New York, NY.
Money in and out
$-22K revenue, $65K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$-22K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$65K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$706K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$87K
Total assets
706K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
50K
in FY2020
Grants made
19grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 19 grants · $46K · 2024–2024
Woodland MontessoriFY2024$10,000
Mountainside SchoolFY2024$10,000
Neue GalleryFY2024$8,000
WhrdaFY2024$5,000
The Morgan LibraryFY2024$2,000
Museum of Art and DesignFY2024$1,500
Museum of Modern ArtNY · FY2024$1,100
Creative Growth Art CenterCA · FY2024$1,000
Film Forum INCNY · FY2024$550
Step One SchoolCA · FY2024$500
Ruth Acty SchoolFY2024$500
The Ronald McDonald HouseFY2024$250
The Clark Art InstituteFY2024$250
Saint Anthony of Padua ChurchFY2024$250
New York Public LibraryFY2024$250
See all 19 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV7
Average grantPart XV$2K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$10K
Top cause focusNTEEArts & Culture (21%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$-22K
FY2020
Expenses
$65K
FY2020
Total assets
$706K
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$-22K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$65K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$706K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$706K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMorris Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D13-4047659
Principal addressHdr · item CNew York, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 1999

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Morris Foundation INC executive salaries →

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.77 Operating & administrative $0.23
Grants & contributions paid77%$50K
Operating & administrative23%$15K
Total functional expensesLn 25$65K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$139K
Total assetsLn 16$706K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$706K
Months of cash on handcomputed25.7

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $706K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $-22K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $-22K
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $-22K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $706K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $-22K · Expenses $65K
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $706K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $706K · Total assets $706K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $65K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$84K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$79K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$21K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$127K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$-22K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.