Hand Foundation EIN 56-2403164 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Hand Foundation FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Wilmington, DE. It reported about $2.7M in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $2.7M in revenue, $824K in expenses, and $11.2M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Wilmington, DE
Website
thehandfoundation.org
Filings
6 on file (2020–2021)
Revenue
$2.7MFY2021
Expenses
$824K
Net assets
$11.2M
People
0
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  56-2403164 Private foundation / grantmaker Wilmington, DE
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Hand Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Wilmington, DE. It reported about $2.7M in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$2.7M revenue, $824K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$2.7M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$824K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$11.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $1.9M
Total assets
11.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
768K
in FY2021
Grants made
25grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 25 grants · $1.0M · 2024–2024
The Board of Trustees of the Leland Stanford JunioFY2024$370,962
Moms Against PovertyCA · FY2024$200,000
Globsec US FoundationDC · FY2024$60,000
Media Matters for AmericaDC · FY2024$50,000
Trustees of Tufts CollegeMA · FY2024$25,000
The Barack Obama FoundationIL · FY2024$25,000
Stanford UniversityFY2024$25,000
Stanford UniversityFY2024$25,000
Mathematical Sciences Research InstituteFY2024$25,000
Baby2babyCA · FY2024$25,000
Stanford UniversityFY2024$15,000
Menlo SchoolCA · FY2024$13,248
Khan Academy INCCA · FY2024$10,000
American Civil Liberties Union Foundation INCFY2024$10,000
See all 25 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV14
Average grantPart XV$40K
Median grantPart XV$25K
Largest grantPart XV$371K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (12%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$2.7M
FY2021▲ ×25
Expenses
$824K
FY2021▲ +15%
Total assets
$11.2M
FY2021▲ +21%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2021▼ -100%
Total revenue
$2.7M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$824K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$11.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$11.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHand Foundation
EINHdr · item D56-2403164
Principal addressHdr · item CWilmington, DE
WebsiteHdr · item Jthehandfoundation.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MDE
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 2003

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Hand Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$2.7M · 99%
Other revenue$16K · 1%
Investment income99%$2.7M
Other revenue1%$16K
Total revenueLn 12$2.7M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.93 Operating & administrative $0.07
Grants & contributions paid93%$768K
Operating & administrative7%$56K
Total functional expensesLn 25$824K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$5.0M
Total assetsLn 16$11.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$11.2M
Months of cash on handcomputed72.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $11.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $2.7M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $2.7M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $2.7M · Prior year $111K
×25
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $11.2M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $2.7M · Expenses $824K
+70%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $11.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $11.2M · Total assets $11.2M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $824K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth ×25

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$343K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$253K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$179K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$99K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$2.7M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$111K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.