Aspiremn EIN 36-3445759 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Aspiremn FY2023 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Advance therapeutic provider skills through education, development, and peer support. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $625K in revenue, $566K in expenses, and $258K in net assets.Pt I

Founded
1979
Type
Business league / trade association · Community Development
Location
St Paul, MN
Website
www.aspiremn.org
Filings
6 on file (2020–2023)
Revenue
$625KFY2023
Expenses
$566K
Net assets
$258K
People
16
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  36-3445759 Business league / trade association St Paul, MN Founded 1979
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Aspiremn claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Advance therapeutic provider skills through education, development, and peer support.
Leadership
Kirsten Anderson · Executive Director · $113K
Money in and out
$625K revenue, $566K expenses
Bottom line
+9% operating surplus
Membership & operating revenue · FY2023
Total revenue
$625K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$566K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$258K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $59K
Operating surplus
+9%
revenue over expenses
Earned revenue
19%
of revenue from program services & dues
Payroll share
37%
of spending is salaries & benefits

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990
Revenue
$625K
FY2023▲ +96%
Expenses
$566K
FY2023▲ +98%
Total assets
$289K
FY2023▲ +16%
Total liabilities
$31K
FY2023▼ -38%
Total revenue
$625K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$566K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$258K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$59K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$289K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 316
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 415

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CAspiremn
EINHdr · item D36-3445759
Principal addressHdr · item CSt Paul, MN
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.aspiremn.org
Year of formationHdr · item L1979
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(6) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFCommunity Development (S41)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2019

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a16
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b15
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$113,300Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Kirsten Anderson’s $125K as Executive Director is at the 84th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1710 $100K–1M community development nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Kirsten Anderson$124,913$118,965$113,300$97,340$91,712$97,603

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Aspiremn executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $220K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2023.
01

Conducting the Getting to Yes study engaged a number of expert members, researchers and families with lived experience to compose a report that points to excellence in practice or occasions in service delivery that should be repeated to improve care for children and youth.

$90Kprogram expense
02

Building the Quality Parenting Initiative-MN has been a critical focus of the work of the association, to build capacity through supporting new leaders and developing capability to enhance technical assistance and training for QPI-MN practices statewide.

$74Kprogram expense
03

Leadership development and training opportunities increased in 2023 with new Evidence Based Practice (EBP) trainings in addition to focused anti-racism training and broad-based leadership development opportunities.

$56Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$483K · 77%
Program service revenue$121K · 19%
Other revenue$20K · 3%
Contributions & grants77%$483K
Program service revenue19%$121K
Other revenue3%$20K
Investment income$885
— government grantsLn 1e$91K
Total revenueLn 12$625K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$248K
Total assetsLn 16$289K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$31K
Total net assetsLn 32$258K
Months of cash on handcomputed5.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $248K · Operating expenses/yr $566K
5.3 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $566K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $566K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $566K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $222K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $483K · Total revenue $625K
77%
Government reliance
Government grants $91K · Total revenue $625K
15%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $121K · Total revenue $625K
19%
Investment reliance
Investment income $885 · Total revenue $625K
+0.1%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $121K · Total expenses $566K
21%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $625K · Prior year $318K
+96%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $258K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $625K · Expenses $566K
+9%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $289K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $258K · Total assets $289K
89%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $289K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Kirsten Anderson · Reported title Executive Director · Highest reported compensation $113K · Total expenses $566K
20%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $210K · Total expenses $566K
37%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%
Fundraising cost ratio 0%
Revenue growth 96%
Investment management fee ratio 0%
Legal fee ratio 0.3%
Accounting fee ratio 0.5%
Fundraising fee ratio 0%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$50K

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$493K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$568K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$625K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$318K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$282K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$297K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.