Hack Ny INC EIN 27-3758609

Hack Ny INC FY2021 filing

EIN  27-3758609 Public charity (501(c)(3)) New York, NY
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Hack Ny INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Empowers student technologists through summer programs and hackathons.
Leadership
Matthew Troy · Executive Dir. · $100K
Money in and out
$98K revenue
Bottom line
23.6mo operating runway

Empowers student technologists through summer programs and hackathons. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $98K in revenue, in expenses, and $306K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2021
Total revenue
$98K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$306K
Pt X · Ln 32
Operating runway
23.6mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
-58%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
99%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$98K
FY2021▼ -61%
Expenses
FY2021
Total assets
FY2021
Total liabilities
$26K
FY2021
Total revenue
$98K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$306K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $119K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2019.
01

The summer fellows program pairs quantitative and computational students with startups which can demonstrate a strong mentoring environment. Students attend pedagogical lecture series to introduce them to the ins and outs of joining and founding startup companies.

$119Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHack Ny INC
EINHdr · item D27-3758609
Principal addressHdr · item CNew York, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.hackny.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B90)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2013

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2020); the FY2021 filing did not itemize Part VII
Executive Dir.
$100,000Pt VII · Sec A
Co-President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Co-President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Shyamal Ruparel’s $18K as Director is at the 13th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1616 $100K–1M education nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2022FY2021FY2020
Matthew Troy$80,667$100,000$79,167
Shyamal Ruparel$17,500
Eric Wu$12,500

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Hack Ny INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$98K
Total revenueLn 12$98K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26$26K
Total net assetsLn 32$306K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $306K · Operating expenses/yr $155K
23.6 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $98K · Total revenue $98K
99%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $98K
Investment reliance
Investment income $60 · Total revenue $98K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $155K
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $98K · Prior year $250K
-61%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $306K · Beginning of year $363K
-16%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $98K · Expenses $155K
-58%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $26K · Total assets $332K
8%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $306K · Total assets $332K
92%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Matthew Troy · Reported title Executive Dir. · Highest reported compensation $100K · Total expenses $155K
64%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $109K · Total expenses $155K
70%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -61%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
See all 3 funders →

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Hack Ny INC →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$242K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$102K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$132K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$98K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$250K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.