Secunda Family Foundation INC EIN 20-5968142

Secunda Family Foundation INC

EIN  20-5968142 Private foundation / grantmaker New York, NY
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Secunda Family Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$10–100M
What they do
A private foundation based in New York, NY. It reported about $57.0M in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Thomas F Secunda · President & Treasurer
Money in and out
$57.0M revenue, $14.4M expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in New York, NY. It reported about $57.0M in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $57.0M in revenue, $14.4M in expenses, and $278.1M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$57.0M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$14.4M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$278.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $42.6M
Total assets
278.1M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
11.5M
in FY2024
Grants made
50grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 50 grants · $11.5M · 2024–2024
Whyhunger INCNY · FY2024$1,750,000
Love City Strong INCVI · FY2024$1,500,000
Fund for the City of New York INCNY · FY2024$1,200,000
National Museum of MathematicsNY · FY2024$1,000,000
Manhattan Theatre Club INCNY · FY2024$1,000,000
Target Als Foundation INCNY · FY2024$700,000
University of California San Francisco FoundationFY2024$500,000
Johns Hopkins UniversityFY2024$500,000
American Society for Technion Israel Institute of Technology INCFY2024$500,000
Manhattan Theatre Club INCNY · FY2024$310,975
Central Park Conservancy INCNY · FY2024$250,000
Intrepid Museum Foundation INC DBA Intrepid Sea-Air-Space MuseumFY2024$221,410
Intrepid Museum Foundation INC DBA Intrepid Sea-Air-Space MuseumFY2024$173,983
Temple Israel of Northern WestchesterFY2024$161,000
Simon Wiesenthal Center INCCA · FY2024$100,000
See all 50 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV31
Average grantPart XV$231K
Median grantPart XV$50K
Largest grantPart XV$1.8M
Top cause focusNTEEArts & Culture (18%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$57.0M
FY2024▲ +57%
Expenses
$14.4M
FY2024▼ -3%
Total assets
$278.1M
FY2024▲ +18%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$57.0M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$14.4M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$278.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$278.1M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSecunda Family Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D20-5968142
Principal addressHdr · item CNew York, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 2008

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President & Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President & Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Secunda Family Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$35.2M · 62%
Investment income$21.3M · 37%
Other revenue$441K · 1%
Contributions & grants62%$35.2M
Investment income37%$21.3M
Other revenue1%$441K
Total revenueLn 12$57.0M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.80 Operating & administrative $0.20
Grants & contributions paid80%$11.5M
Operating & administrative20%$2.9M
Total functional expensesLn 25$14.4M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$12.4M
Total assetsLn 16$278.1M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$278.1M
Months of cash on handcomputed10.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $278.1M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $57.0M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $57.0M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $57.0M · Prior year $36.2M
+57%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $56.8M · FY2024 $57.0M
0%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $278.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $57.0M · Expenses $14.4M
+75%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $278.1M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $278.1M · Total assets $278.1M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Thomas F Secunda · Reported title PRESIDENT & TREASURER · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $14.4M
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 57%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$57.0M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$36.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$13.6M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$17.7M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$56.8M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.