Bwf Foundation INC EIN 13-4036563 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Bwf Foundation INC FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in New York, NY. It reported about $14K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $14K in revenue, $81K in expenses, and $36K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
New York, NY
Filings
5 on file (2020–2021)
Revenue
$14KFY2021
Expenses
$81K
Net assets
$36K
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  13-4036563 Private foundation / grantmaker New York, NY
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Bwf Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in New York, NY. It reported about $14K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$14K revenue, $81K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$14K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$81K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$36K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$67K
Total assets
36K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
37K
in FY2021
Grants made
28grants
total in period
Payout rate
104%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 28 grants · $213K · 2024–2024
Calhoun Schools INCFY2024$43,172
New Venture FundFY2024$25,000
The Broadway LeagueFY2024$18,000
The Peoples TheatreFY2024$14,280
Poderistas Community FundFY2024$10,942
Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute INCFY2024$10,032
Stella Adler SchoolFY2024$10,000
Iati TheatreFY2024$8,557
Thalia Spanish TheatreFY2024$8,360
United We Dream NetworkFY2024$7,532
Ballet HispanicoFY2024$7,106
Broadway CaresFY2024$5,852
Make the Road New YorkFY2024$5,225
The Public TheatreFY2024$5,000
Envsn FoundationFY2024$4,975
Roundabout Theatre CompanyFY2024$4,500
Ps11 Programs INCFY2024$3,980
Vineyard TheatreFY2024$3,500
See all 28 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$8K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$43K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$14K
FY2021▼ -88%
Expenses
$81K
FY2021▼ -36%
Total assets
$36K
FY2021▼ -65%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2021
Total revenue
$14K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$81K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$36K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$36K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBwf Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D13-4036563
Principal addressHdr · item CNew York, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 1999

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2024
Brett England$41,344$40,369
Sierra M$3,682

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Bwf Foundation INC executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$11K · 81%
Investment income$3K · 19%
Contributions & grants81%$11K
Investment income19%$3K
Total revenueLn 12$14K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.46 Operating & administrative $0.54
Grants & contributions paid46%$37K
Operating & administrative54%$44K
Total functional expensesLn 25$81K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$17K
Total assetsLn 16$36K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$36K
Months of cash on handcomputed2.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $36K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $14K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $14K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $14K · Prior year $116K
-88%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $36K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $14K · Expenses $81K
-477%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $36K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $36K · Total assets $36K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $81K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -88%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024$220K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$179K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$108K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$14K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$116K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.