Ahrens Family Foundation EIN 84-4062023

Ahrens Family Foundation

EIN  84-4062023 Private foundation / grantmaker Franklin, TN
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Ahrens Family Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Franklin, TN. It reported about $361K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Daniel J Ahrens · Chariman
Money in and out
$361K revenue, $351K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Franklin, TN. It reported about $361K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $361K in revenue, $351K in expenses, and $272K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$361K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$351K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$272K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $10K
Total assets
272K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
341K
in FY2025
Grants made
11grants
total in period
Payout rate
125%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 11 grants · $341K · 2025–2025
Greg Hood MinistriesFY2025$129,700
Legacy Mission VillageFY2025$50,000
Barefoot Republic Camp & Retreat CenterFY2025$40,250
Regeneration NashvilleFY2025$35,000
Focus on the FamilyFY2025$30,000
Future Church FranklinFY2025$25,800
The Bridge Ministry INCFY2025$20,000
Two Hearts Pregnancy AidFY2025$5,000
Kingdom Life EkklesiaFY2025$2,500
Pan-Mass ChallengeFY2025$1,500
Frank Town Open HeartsFY2025$1,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$31K
Median grantPart XV$26K
Largest grantPart XV$130K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$361K
FY2025▲ +58%
Expenses
$351K
FY2025▲ +48%
Total assets
$272K
FY2025▲ +4%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$361K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$351K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$272K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$272K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CAhrens Family Foundation
EINHdr · item D84-4062023
Principal addressHdr · item CFranklin, TN
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 2021

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Ahrens Family Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$337K · 93%
Investment income$24K · 7%
Contributions & grants93%$337K
Investment income7%$24K
Other revenue$26
Total revenueLn 12$361K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.97 Operating & administrative $0.03
Grants & contributions paid97%$341K
Operating & administrative3%$10K
Total functional expensesLn 25$351K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$40K
Total assetsLn 16$272K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$272K
Months of cash on handcomputed1.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $272K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $361K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $361K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $361K · Prior year $229K
+58%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $1.2M · FY2025 $361K
-21%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $272K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $361K · Expenses $351K
+3%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $272K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $272K · Total assets $272K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Daniel J Ahrens · Reported title CHARIMAN · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $351K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 58%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$361K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$229K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$233K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$121K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$156K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.