Girls Rock Sacramento EIN 84-2310356

Girls Rock Sacramento

EIN  84-2310356 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Sacramento, CA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Girls Rock Sacramento claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Empowers youth through music education, performance, and mentorship to build self-esteem and leadership.
Leadership
Larisa Bryski · Executive Director · $26K
Money in and out
$163K revenue, $129K expenses
Bottom line
7.8mo operating runway

Empowers youth through music education, performance, and mentorship to build self-esteem and leadership. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $163K in revenue, $129K in expenses, and $88K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2025
Total revenue
$163K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$129K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$88K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $34K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.75
Operating runway
7.8mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▲ +111% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+21%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ ×31 vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
+20%
avg. annual growth over 5 years

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Revenue
$163K
FY2025▼ -24%
Expenses
$129K
FY2025▼ -39%
Total assets
$89K
FY2025▲ +28%
Total liabilities
$912
FY2025▼ -94%
Total revenue
$163K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$129K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$88K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$34K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$89K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B75%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $179K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

Funded through the generous support of the City of Sacramento Girls Rock Sacramento hosted two new one-week camps in Del Paso Heights and Oak Park neighborhoods. Campers age 7 to 17 took instrument lessons rehearsed in a band collaboratively wrote an original song participated in daily music art and empowerment-related workshops and…

$119Kprogram expense
02

G.I.R.L.S. Rock Sacramento is much more than an arts and music education summer camp. We believe that creativity positivity inclusivity and community are key elements of personal and collective empowerment and positive social change. Our summer day camps are week-long programs for young people ages 8-17.

$47Kprogram expense
03

Liberation Rock Camp is a weekend day camp designed for adults. LRC is a chance to let go explore your potential and play music within a supportive community.

$13Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CGirls Rock Sacramento
EINHdr · item D84-2310356
Principal addressHdr · item CSacramento, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFYouth Development (O50)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2019

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$26,400Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Larisa Bryski’s $26K as Executive Director is at the 20th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1984 $100K–1M youth development nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Larisa Bryski$26,400$41,150$22,750$11,850$6,650
Myki Angeline$2,480
Ruby Fradkin$850$900

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Girls Rock Sacramento executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$163K
Total revenueLn 12$163K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.75
Program services75%$96K
Total functional expensesLn 25$129K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$89K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$912
Total net assetsLn 32$88K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $84K · Operating expenses/yr $129K
7.8 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $141K · Total revenue $163K
87%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $20K · Total revenue $163K
13%
Investment reliance
Investment income $50 · Total revenue $163K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $20K · Total expenses $129K
16%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $163K · Prior year $213K
-24%
Revenue CAGR
FY2021 $77K · FY2025 $163K
+20%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $88K · Beginning of year $53K
+65%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $163K · Expenses $129K
+21%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $912 · Total assets $89K
1%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $88K · Total assets $89K
99%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Larisa Bryski · Reported title Executive Director · Highest reported compensation $26K · Total expenses $129K
21%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $44K · Total expenses $129K
34%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 75%
Revenue growth -24%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2025
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$52K

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Girls Rock Sacramento →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$163K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$213K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$128K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$91K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$77K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.