Identity Defined Security Alliance EIN 83-3202066 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Identity Defined Security Alliance FY2022 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Educates the public and businesses on identity-centric cybersecurity and provides implementation guidance. For fiscal year 2022 it reported $387K in revenue, $405K in expenses, and $54K in net assets.Pt I

Founded
2019
Type
Business league / trade association · Community Development
Location
New Braunfels, TX
Website
www.idsalliance.org
Filings
6 on file (2020–2022)
Revenue
$387KFY2022
Expenses
$405K
Net assets
$54K
People
11
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  83-3202066 Business league / trade association New Braunfels, TX Founded 2019
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Identity Defined Security Alliance claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Educates the public and businesses on identity-centric cybersecurity and provides implementation guidance.
Leadership
Julie Smith · Ed, Pres, Treas, and Sec. · $168K
Money in and out
$387K revenue, $405K expenses
Bottom line
-5% operating surplus
Membership & operating revenue · FY2022
Total revenue
$387K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$405K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$54K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$18K
Operating surplus
-5%
revenue over expenses
Earned revenue
100%
of revenue from program services & dues
Payroll share
48%
of spending is salaries & benefits

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990
Revenue
$387K
FY2022▲ +5%
Expenses
$405K
FY2022▲ +20%
Total assets
$70K
FY2022▼ -29%
Total liabilities
$16K
FY2022▼ -39%
Total revenue
$387K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$405K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$54K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$18K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$70K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 39
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 49
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $386K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2022.
01

The general program is the overarching program that includes activities such as collecting, creating, disseminating, and promoting information and educational materials regarding the benefits and practical aspects of utilizing an identity-centric approach to cyber security.

$343Kprogram expense
02

Identity management day aims to inform about the dangers of casually or improperly managing and securing digital identities by raising awareness, sharing best practices, and leveraging the support of vendors in the identity security space. There are many ways to participate as a consumer, practitioner, or an organization.

$38Kprogram expense
03

Identiverse is where the identity security community comes together. Now in its 14TH year, identiverse is a must-attend annual event that brings together over 2,500 security professionals for 4 days of world-class learning, engagement, and entertainment.

$4Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CIdentity Defined Security Alliance
EINHdr · item D83-3202066
Principal addressHdr · item CNew Braunfels, TX
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.idsalliance.org
Year of formationHdr · item L2019
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTX
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(6) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFCommunity Development (S41)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2019

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a9
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b9
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Ed, Pres, Treas, and Sec.
$168,000Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Courtney Keogh’s $109K as Operations Director is at the 78th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1711 $100K–1M community development nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 4 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Julie Smith$168,000
Julie Smith$158,498$167,954
Jeffrey N Reich$72,035$77,560$135,692
Courtney Keogh$109,391

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Identity Defined Security Alliance executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue100%$385K
Other revenue$2K
Total revenueLn 12$387K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$70K
Total assetsLn 16$70K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$16K
Total net assetsLn 32$54K
Months of cash on handcomputed2.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $70K · Operating expenses/yr $405K
2.1 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $405K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $405K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $405K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $0
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $0 · Total revenue $387K
0%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $387K
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $385K · Total revenue $387K
100%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $387K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $385K · Total expenses $405K
95%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $387K · Prior year $368K
+5%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $54K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $387K · Expenses $405K
-5%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $70K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $54K · Total assets $70K
77%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $70K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Julie Smith · Reported title ED, PRES, TREAS, AND SEC. · Highest reported compensation $168K · Total expenses $405K
41%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $194K · Total expenses $405K
48%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%
Revenue growth 5%
Accounting fee ratio 2%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$313K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$375K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$460K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$387K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$368K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$286K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.