Box United EIN 83-3178900 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Box United FY2023 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Teaches boxing fundamentals and well-being lessons to empower girls. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $335K in revenue, $272K in expenses, and $200K in net assets.Pt I

Founded
2019
Type
Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Youth Development
Location
Chicago, IL
Filings
3 on file (2023–2023)
Revenue
$335KFY2023
Expenses
$272K
Net assets
$200K
People
12
Filings
3
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  83-3178900 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Chicago, IL Founded 2019
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Box United claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Teaches boxing fundamentals and well-being lessons to empower girls.
Leadership
Mary Kate Vanecko · Executive Dir. · $87K
Money in and out
$335K revenue, $272K expenses
Bottom line
6.5mo operating runway
Where the money goes · FY2023
Total revenue
$335K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$272K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$200K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $63K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.73 Management & general $0.28 Fundraising $0.15
Operating runway
6.5mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
+19%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
102%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990
Revenue
$335K
FY2023
Expenses
$272K
FY2023
Total assets
$206K
FY2023
Total liabilities
$6K
FY2023
Total revenue
$335K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$272K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$200K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$63K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$206K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B73%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 36
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBox United
EINHdr · item D83-3178900
Principal addressHdr · item CChicago, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item L2019
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFYouth Development (O20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2019

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a6
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Dir.
$86,769Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Dir.
$86,769Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Chair
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Mary Kate Vanecko’s $114K as Executive Dir. is at the 92nd percentile of top reported officer pay among 1984 $100K–1M youth development nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023
Mary Kate Vanecko$114,248$99,891$86,769
Mary Kate Vanecko$86,769

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Box United executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

2 program services account for $378K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2023.
01

Fight Like a Girl is a boxing and wellness program that helps empower girls and build self-confidence.

$200Kprogram expense
02

Box United uses the sport of boxing to help Chicago girls become leaders in life.

$178Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$344K · 102%
Program service revenue$19K · 6%
Contributions & grants102%$344K
Program service revenue6%$19K
— government grantsLn 1e$67K
Total revenueLn 12$335K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.73 Management & general $0.28 Fundraising $0.15
Program services73%$200K
Management & general28%$77K
Fundraising15%$40K
Total functional expensesLn 25$272K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$148K
Total assetsLn 16$206K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$6K
Total net assetsLn 32$200K
Months of cash on handcomputed6.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $148K · Operating expenses/yr $272K
6.5 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $178K · Total expenses $296K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $77K · Total expenses $296K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $40K · Total expenses $296K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $40K · Solicited contributions $276K
$0.15 to raise $1
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $344K · Total revenue $335K
102%
Government reliance
Government grants $67K · Total revenue $335K
20%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $19K · Total revenue $335K
6%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $335K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $19K · Total expenses $272K
7%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $335K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $200K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $335K · Expenses $272K
+19%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $206K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $200K · Total assets $206K
97%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $206K
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Mary Kate Vanecko · Reported title Executive Dir. · Highest reported compensation $87K · Total expenses $272K
32%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $225K · Total expenses $272K
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 73%
Overhead ratio 28%
Fundraising cost ratio 12%
Investment management fee ratio 0%
Legal fee ratio 0%
Accounting fee ratio 5%
Fundraising fee ratio 0%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2025
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$5K

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Box United →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$828K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$621K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$335K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.