Chrysanta Foundation EIN 83-2658221 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Chrysanta Foundation FY2023 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Lafayette, PA. It reported about $10.5M in revenue for 2023. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $10.5M in revenue, $718K in expenses, and $27.8M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Lafayette, PA
Website
chrysantafoundation.org
Filings
6 on file (2020–2023)
Revenue
$10.5MFY2023
Expenses
$718K
Net assets
$27.8M
People
0
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  83-2658221 Private foundation / grantmaker Lafayette, PA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Figures match the IRS filing checked 7/18/26 · see original: IRS
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Chrysanta Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$10–100M
What they do
A private foundation based in Lafayette, PA. It reported about $10.5M in revenue for 2023.
Money in and out
$10.5M revenue, $718K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$10.5M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$718K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$27.8M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $9.8M
Total assets
27.8M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
565K
in FY2023
Grants made
63grants
total in period
Payout rate
2%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 63 grants · $3.2M · 2025–2025
Triplex Cinema INCFY2025$150,000
Wissahickon TrailsFY2025$150,000
Henrys Fork FoundationFY2025$100,000
Greater Philadelphia YMCAFY2025$100,000
The Ryan Residency Training ProgramFY2025$100,000
Change Today Change TomorrowFY2025$100,000
Sophia FundFY2025$100,000
Hamptons Community OutreachFY2025$100,000
The Charles River Watershed AssociaFY2025$100,000
Pushing ForwardFY2025$90,000
Western New York Land ConservacyFY2025$85,000
Laurel HouseFY2025$80,000
Gowanus Canal ConservancyFY2025$80,000
Upper Gila Watershed AssociatesFY2025$75,000
Gasp INCFY2025$75,000
High Desert Food and Farm AllianceFY2025$75,000
Arkansas Abortion Support NetworkFY2025$65,000
Redemptorist Social Services CenterFY2025$60,000
See all 63 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$51K
Median grantPart XV$50K
Largest grantPart XV$150K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$10.5M
FY2023▲ +151%
Expenses
$718K
FY2023▲ +30%
Total assets
$27.8M
FY2023▲ +54%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total revenue
$10.5M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$718K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$27.8M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$27.8M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CChrysanta Foundation
EINHdr · item D83-2658221
Principal addressHdr · item CLafayette, PA
WebsiteHdr · item Jchrysantafoundation.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MPA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMay 2019

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Chrysanta Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$10.0M · 96%
Investment income$468K · 4%
Contributions & grants96%$10.0M
Investment income4%$468K
Total revenueLn 12$10.5M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.79 Operating & administrative $0.21
Grants & contributions paid79%$565K
Operating & administrative21%$153K
Total functional expensesLn 25$718K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$2.4M
Total assetsLn 16$27.8M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$27.8M
Months of cash on handcomputed40.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $27.8M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $10.5M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $10.5M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $10.5M · Prior year $4.2M
+151%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $27.8M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $10.5M · Expenses $718K
+93%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $27.8M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $27.8M · Total assets $27.8M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $718K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 151%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$23.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$16.8M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$10.5M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$4.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$8.0M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$3.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.