Center for Advanced China Research EIN 82-4733766

Center for Advanced China Research

EIN  82-4733766 Private foundation / grantmaker Washington, DC
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Center for Advanced China Research claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Analyzes Chinese politics through reports and publications for policymakers and the public.
Leadership
David Gitter · President & CEO · $165K
Money in and out
$595K revenue, $1.8M expenses
Bottom line

Analyzes Chinese politics through reports and publications for policymakers and the public. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $595K in revenue, $1.8M in expenses.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$595K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.8M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$1.2M
Grants paid
1.3M
in FY2023
Grants made
3grants
total in period

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 3 grants · $1.3M · 2023–2023
The George Washington UniversityVA · FY2023$1,100,000
Project 2049 InstituteFY2023$100,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV2
Average grantPart XV$433K
Median grantPart XV$100K
Largest grantPart XV$1.1M
Top cause focusNTEEColleges & Universities (33%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$595K
FY2023▼ -57%
Expenses
$1.8M
FY2023▲ +111%
Total assets
$0
FY2023▼ -100%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023▼ -100%
Total revenue
$595K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.8M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$0
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $665K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2022.
01

Party Watch Initiative

The party watch initiative of cacr strives to provide the china-watching community with insights into chinese communist party regime activities and viewpoints. The initiative specializes in original analysis of regime-controlled chinese language publications to promote better understanding of chinese domestic and foreign affairs.

$665Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CCenter for Advanced China Research
EINHdr · item D82-4733766
Principal addressHdr · item CWashington, DC
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.ccpwatch.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MDC
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2022); the FY2023 filing did not itemize Part VII
President & CEO
$165,000Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$81,549Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$5,907Pt VII · Sec A
$1,500Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 6 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2022FY2021FY2020
David Gitter$165,000$149,769$142,746
Connor Swank$81,549$68,846$57,500
Julia Bowie$39,039$70,000
Sandy Lu$51,077
Julie Huynh$5,907$46,923
Joseph Fewsmith$1,500$300

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Center for Advanced China Research executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$582K · 98%
Investment income$10K · 2%
Contributions & grants$3K · 1%
Other revenue98%$582K
Investment income2%$10K
Contributions & grants1%$3K
Total revenueLn 12$595K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.71 Operating & administrative $0.29
Grants & contributions paid71%$1.3M
Operating & administrative29%$530K
Total functional expensesLn 25$1.8M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$0
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $0
Foundation payout rate (grants ÷ total assets); 5% minimum-distribution rule
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $595K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $595K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $595K · Prior year $1.4M
-57%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $595K · Expenses $1.8M
-208%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $0
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $0
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $1.8M
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -57%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2023 (Latest)$595K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$1.4M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$1.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.