Summit Financial Foundation EIN 81-3943622 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Summit Financial Foundation FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Wilmington, DE. It reported about $32K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $32K in revenue, $18K in expenses, and $123K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Wilmington, DE
Filings
5 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$32KFY2020
Expenses
$18K
Net assets
$123K
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  81-3943622 Private foundation / grantmaker Wilmington, DE
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Summit Financial Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Wilmington, DE. It reported about $32K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$32K revenue, $18K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$32K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$18K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$123K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $14K
Total assets
123K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
18K
in FY2020
Grants made
21grants
total in period
Payout rate
15%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 21 grants · $14K · 2024–2024
St Jude Childrens Research Hospital INCFY2024$500
Rooms of Hope INCCA · FY2024$500
Rooms of Hope INCCA · FY2024$500
Bay Area Crisis NurseryCA · FY2024$500
Aneurysm FoundationCA · FY2024$500
Crosswinds ChurchFY2024$270
Wrestle Like a Girl INCPA · FY2024$250
The Mayfly ProjectAR · FY2024$250
Hillsdale CollegeMI · FY2024$250
Dougy Center INCOR · FY2024$250
See all 21 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV17
Average grantPart XV$680
Median grantPart XV$500
Largest grantPart XV$5K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (14%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$32K
FY2020
Expenses
$18K
FY2020
Total assets
$123K
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$32K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$18K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$123K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$123K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSummit Financial Foundation
EINHdr · item D81-3943622
Principal addressHdr · item CWilmington, DE
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MDE
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T21)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2017

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Summit Financial Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$27K · 83%
Investment income$5K · 17%
Contributions & grants83%$27K
Investment income17%$5K
Total revenueLn 12$32K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.99 Operating & administrative $0.01
Grants & contributions paid99%$18K
Operating & administrative1%$220
Total functional expensesLn 25$18K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$30K
Total assetsLn 16$123K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$123K
Months of cash on handcomputed20.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $123K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $32K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $32K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $32K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $123K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $32K · Expenses $18K
+44%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $123K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $123K · Total assets $123K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $18K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$74K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$15K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$40K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$74K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$32K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.