Matem Foundation EIN 81-0916762 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Matem Foundation FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Alexandria, VA. It reported about $107K in revenue for 2021. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $107K in revenue, $29K in expenses, and $610K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Alexandria, VA
Filings
4 on file (2021–2021)
Revenue
$107KFY2021
Expenses
$29K
Net assets
$610K
People
4
Filings
4
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  81-0916762 Private foundation / grantmaker Alexandria, VA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Matem Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Alexandria, VA. It reported about $107K in revenue for 2021.
Leadership
Mary Matalin · Director/President/Secretary
Money in and out
$107K revenue, $29K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$107K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$29K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$610K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $78K
Total assets
610K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
8K
in FY2021
Grants made
16grants
total in period
Payout rate
1%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 16 grants · $72K · 2024–2024
The Idea Village INCLA · FY2024$30,000
Verite INCMA · FY2024$5,000
St Jude INCTX · FY2024$5,000
Bridge Housegrace HouseFY2024$5,000
Hogs for the CauseFY2024$2,500
The Preservation Resource CenterFY2024$2,500
The Nature ConservancyVA · FY2024$2,500
NomaFY2024$2,500
Notre Dame Seminary Graduate School of TheologyFY2024$2,000
WwozFY2024$1,000
Academy of the Sacred HeartFY2024$500
Wwii Musuem of New OrleansFY2024$100

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV8
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$30K
Top cause focusNTEEAnimals (6%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$107K
FY2021
Expenses
$29K
FY2021
Total assets
$610K
FY2021
Total liabilities
$0
FY2021
Total revenue
$107K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$29K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$610K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$610K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMatem Foundation
EINHdr · item D81-0916762
Principal addressHdr · item CAlexandria, VA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MVA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2021

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Director/President/Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director/Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Matem Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$100K · 93%
Investment income$7K · 7%
Contributions & grants93%$100K
Investment income7%$7K
Total revenueLn 12$107K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.26 Operating & administrative $0.74
Grants & contributions paid26%$8K
Operating & administrative74%$22K
Total functional expensesLn 25$29K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$269K
Total assetsLn 16$610K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$610K
Months of cash on handcomputed109.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $610K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $107K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $107K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $107K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $610K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $107K · Expenses $29K
+73%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $610K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $610K · Total assets $610K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Mary Matalin · Reported title DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT/SECRETARY · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $29K
0%
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$9K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$8K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$5K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$107K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.