Michael J Kirsch Foundation EIN 77-0558165

Michael J Kirsch Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Santa Clara, CA. It reported about $23K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $23K in revenue, $13K in expenses, and $190K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Santa Clara, CA
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$23KFY2025
Expenses
$13K
Net assets
$190K
People
4
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  77-0558165 Private foundation / grantmaker Santa Clara, CA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Michael J Kirsch Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Santa Clara, CA. It reported about $23K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Vicky Niemann · Secretary
Money in and out
$23K revenue, $13K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$23K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$13K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$190K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $10K
Total assets
194K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
8K
in FY2025
Grants made
8grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 8 grants · $8K · 2025–2025
Bethel Lutheran Church SchoolFY2025$2,000
Pacifica Resource CenterFY2025$1,000
Community Music CenterFY2025$1,000
Sacred Heart Community ServiceFY2025$1,000
Real Options for City KidsFY2025$1,000
Esperanza ServicesFY2025$1,000
Second Harvest Food BankFY2025$1,000
San Francisco Fire Fighters Toy ProFY2025$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$1K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$2K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$23K
FY2025▲ +39%
Expenses
$13K
FY2025▼ -11%
Total assets
$194K
FY2025▲ +7%
Total liabilities
$4K
FY2025▲ +105%
Total revenue
$23K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$13K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$190K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$194K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CMichael J Kirsch Foundation
EINHdr · item D77-0558165
Principal addressHdr · item CSanta Clara, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2001

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Michael J Kirsch Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$23K
Total revenueLn 12$23K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.66 Operating & administrative $0.34
Grants & contributions paid66%$8K
Operating & administrative34%$4K
Total functional expensesLn 25$13K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$28K
Total assetsLn 16$194K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$4K
Total net assetsLn 32$190K
Months of cash on handcomputed25.9

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $194K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $23K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $23K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $23K · Prior year $17K
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $190K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $23K · Expenses $13K
+45%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $194K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $190K · Total assets $194K
98%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Vicky Niemann · Reported title Secretary · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $13K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 39%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$23K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$17K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$10K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$9K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$13K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$7K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.