Cfw Foundation EIN 75-3196400 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Cfw Foundation FY2023 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Emeryville, CA. It reported about $46K in revenue for 2023. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $46K in revenue, $45K in expenses, and $8K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Emeryville, CA
Filings
4 on file (2022–2023)
Revenue
$46KFY2023
Expenses
$45K
Net assets
$8K
People
1
Filings
4
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  75-3196400 Private foundation / grantmaker Emeryville, CA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Cfw Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Emeryville, CA. It reported about $46K in revenue for 2023.
Leadership
Money in and out
$46K revenue, $45K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$46K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$45K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$8K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $775
Total assets
8K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
45K
in FY2023
Grants made
13grants
total in period
Payout rate
595%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 13 grants · $45K · 2025–2025
Cerro Coso Community College D KiblFY2025$5,000
San Josecity College J OchoaFY2025$5,000
Uc Riverside I MoralezFY2025$4,000
San Diego State Univ L GrimesFY2025$4,000
Uc Regents K MagdalenoFY2025$4,000
Csu Chico P HernandezFY2025$3,000
Allan Hancock College M Diaz-FY2025$3,000
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo R OrtegaFY2025$3,000
Napa Valley College a EsquivelFY2025$3,000
Allan Hancock College a GallegosFY2025$3,000
Modesto Junior College C RatkiewiczFY2025$3,000
Merced Junior College M DaytonFY2025$3,000
American River College Z AkbariFY2025$2,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$3K
Largest grantPart XV$5K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$46K
FY2023▲ +12%
Expenses
$45K
FY2023▲ +20%
Total assets
$8K
FY2023▲ +11%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total revenue
$46K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$45K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$8K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$8K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CCfw Foundation
EINHdr · item D75-3196400
Principal addressHdr · item CEmeryville, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFApr 2006

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Cfw Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$45K · 98%
Other revenue$1K · 2%
Contributions & grants98%$45K
Other revenue2%$1K
Total revenueLn 12$46K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $1.00 Operating & administrative $0.00
Grants & contributions paid100%$45K
Operating & administrative$225
Total functional expensesLn 25$45K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$8K
Total assetsLn 16$8K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$8K
Months of cash on handcomputed2.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $8K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $46K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $46K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $46K · Prior year $41K
+12%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $8K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $46K · Expenses $45K
+2%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $8K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $8K · Total assets $8K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Barbara Renteria · Reported title CEO · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $45K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 12%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$64K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$52K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$46K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$41K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.