Silver Lining Foundation INC EIN 48-1255726 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Silver Lining Foundation INC FY2022 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Madison, WI. It reported about $136K in revenue for 2022. For fiscal year 2022 it reported $136K in revenue, $221K in expenses, and $191K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Madison, WI
Filings
6 on file (2020–2022)
Revenue
$136KFY2022
Expenses
$221K
Net assets
$191K
People
0
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  48-1255726 Private foundation / grantmaker Madison, WI
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Silver Lining Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Madison, WI. It reported about $136K in revenue for 2022.
Money in and out
$136K revenue, $221K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2022
Total revenue
$136K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$221K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$191K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$85K
Total assets
191K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
211K
in FY2022
Grants made
23grants
total in period
Payout rate
110%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 23 grants · $363K · 2025–2025
Reach Dane - Red ArrowFY2025$83,000
Startingblock Madison INCFY2025$75,000
Today Not TomorrowFY2025$68,268
Collaborative 523 INCFY2025$41,700
Lake Ripley Management DistrictFY2025$19,000
RootedFY2025$15,000
Cambridge Arts Council INCFY2025$12,500
Aldo Leopold School Parent FacultyFY2025$9,200
Northport Community Learning CenterFY2025$9,048
Three Gaits INCFY2025$7,500
Madison City ParksFY2025$3,000
Lakeview Elementary PTOFY2025$2,600
Wisconsin Technology Council INCFY2025$2,500
University of Wisconsin FoundationFY2025$2,500
Madison Northside Planning Council INCFY2025$2,500
Breakthrough T1dFY2025$2,500
Vegas City OperaFY2025$2,000
Edgewood College INCFY2025$1,971
See all 23 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$16K
Median grantPart XV$3K
Largest grantPart XV$83K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$136K
FY2022▼ -80%
Expenses
$221K
FY2022▲ +45%
Total assets
$191K
FY2022▼ -31%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2022
Total revenue
$136K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$221K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$191K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$191K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSilver Lining Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D48-1255726
Principal addressHdr · item CMadison, WI
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MWI
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2002

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Silver Lining Foundation INC executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$80K · 59%
Investment income$56K · 41%
Contributions & grants59%$80K
Investment income41%$56K
Total revenueLn 12$136K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.96 Operating & administrative $0.04
Grants & contributions paid96%$211K
Operating & administrative4%$9K
Total functional expensesLn 25$221K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$40K
Total assetsLn 16$191K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$191K
Months of cash on handcomputed2.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $191K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $136K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $136K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $136K · Prior year $692K
-80%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $191K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $136K · Expenses $221K
-62%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $191K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $191K · Total assets $191K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $221K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -80%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$347K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$1.4M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$521K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$136K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$692K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$85K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.