Volo Foundation EIN 47-2415681 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Volo Foundation FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Palm Bch Gdns, FL. It reported about $39.2M in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $39.2M in revenue, $8.0M in expenses, and $90.0M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Palm Bch Gdns, FL
Website
volofoundation.org
Filings
5 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$39.2MFY2020
Expenses
$8.0M
Net assets
$90.0M
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  47-2415681 Private foundation / grantmaker Palm Bch Gdns, FL
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Figures match the IRS filing checked 8/8/26 · see original: IRS
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Volo Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$10–100M
What they do
A private foundation based in Palm Bch Gdns, FL. It reported about $39.2M in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$39.2M revenue, $8.0M expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$39.2M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$8.0M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$90.0M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $31.2M
Total assets
90.6M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
6.4M
in FY2020
Grants made
69grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 69 grants · $12.5M · 2023–2023
Environmental Defense Fund EdfFY2023$1,751,715
Cleo Institute INCFL · FY2023$1,028,863
Nicklaus Children's Hospital FoundationFY2023$1,000,000
Amplio NetworkWA · FY2023$300,000
Students for Carbon DividendFY2023$270,000
The Scripps Research InstituteCA · FY2023$254,250
University of California Irvine at the Kimonis LaboratoryFY2023$237,150
Florida International University Foundation INCFY2023$196,000
World Wildlife Fund INCDC · FY2023$160,000
Place of HopeFY2023$125,000
The Methuselah FoundationVA · FY2023$120,000
The Nature ConservancyVA · FY2023$100,000
The King's Academy INCFY2023$100,000
See all 69 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV46
Average grantPart XV$182K
Median grantPart XV$60K
Largest grantPart XV$3.0M
Top cause focusNTEEEnvironment (20%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$39.2M
FY2020
Expenses
$8.0M
FY2020
Total assets
$90.6M
FY2020
Total liabilities
$603K
FY2020
Total revenue
$39.2M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$8.0M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$90.0M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$90.6M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CVolo Foundation
EINHdr · item D47-2415681
Principal addressHdr · item CPalm Bch Gdns, FL
WebsiteHdr · item Jvolofoundation.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MFL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 2016

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2023FY2021
Wendy J Oliver$173,437$110,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Volo Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$35.0M · 89%
Investment income$4.2M · 11%
Contributions & grants89%$35.0M
Investment income11%$4.2M
Other revenue$203
Total revenueLn 12$39.2M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.80 Operating & administrative $0.20
Grants & contributions paid80%$6.4M
Operating & administrative20%$1.6M
Total functional expensesLn 25$8.0M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$16.9M
Total assetsLn 16$90.6M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$603K
Total net assetsLn 32$90.0M
Months of cash on handcomputed25.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $90.6M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $39.2M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $39.2M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $39.2M · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $90.0M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $39.2M · Expenses $8.0M
+80%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $90.6M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $90.0M · Total assets $90.6M
99%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $8.0M
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$29.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$46.8M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$7.0M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$19.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$39.2M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.