Enduring Word EIN 46-5454096

Enduring Word FY2020 filing

EIN  46-5454096 Religious organization Goleta, CA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Enduring Word claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
Publish and share Bible teaching to promote Christian discipleship and evangelism globally.
Leadership
David Guzik · President/CEO · $28K
Money in and out
$834K revenue, $509K expenses
Bottom line
14.0mo operating runway

Publish and share Bible teaching to promote Christian discipleship and evangelism globally. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $834K in revenue, $509K in expenses, and $588K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2020
Total revenue
$834K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$509K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$588K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $325K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.84 Management & general $0.07
Operating runway
14.0mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
+39%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
96%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990
Revenue
$834K
FY2020
Expenses
$509K
FY2020
Total assets
$592K
FY2020
Total liabilities
$4K
FY2020
Total revenue
$834K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$509K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$588K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$325K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$592K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B84%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 34
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 43
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

2 program services account for $430K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

Distribution of David Guziks text Bible commentary, audio video through the website www.enduringword.com as well as others. Provding visitors access to more than 35.3 million pages of Bible resources

$411Kprogram expense
02

Coordination and support of David Guziks work with Christian pastors and churches internationally.

$19Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CEnduring Word
EINHdr · item D46-5454096
Principal addressHdr · item CGoleta, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jenduringword.com
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFReligion (X83)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2014

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a4
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b3
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President/CEO
$27,793Pt VII · Sec A
Board Memeber
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
David Guzik$157,469$143,819$108,383$55,468$27,793
Lance Ralston$48,333

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Enduring Word executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$798K · 96%
Program service revenue$35K · 4%
Contributions & grants96%$798K
Program service revenue4%$35K
— government grantsLn 1e$29K
Total revenueLn 12$834K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.84 Management & general $0.07
Program services84%$430K
Management & general7%$37K
Total functional expensesLn 25$509K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$592K
Total assetsLn 16$592K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$4K
Total net assetsLn 32$588K
Months of cash on handcomputed14.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $592K · Operating expenses/yr $509K
14.0 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $430K · Total expenses $509K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $37K · Total expenses $509K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $509K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $0 · Solicited contributions $769K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $798K · Total revenue $834K
96%
Government reliance
Government grants $29K · Total revenue $834K
4%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $35K · Total revenue $834K
4%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $834K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $35K · Total expenses $509K
7%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $834K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $588K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $834K · Expenses $509K
+39%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $592K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $588K · Total assets $592K
99%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $592K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual David Guzik · Reported title President/CEO · Highest reported compensation $28K · Total expenses $509K
5%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $180K · Total expenses $509K
35%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 84%
Overhead ratio 7%
Fundraising cost ratio 0%
Investment management fee ratio 0%
Legal fee ratio 0%
Accounting fee ratio 1%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2024
See all 6 funders →
Grants paid · 16 grants · $451K · 2020–2024
Unitemized GrantFY2024$28,207
Calvary Chapel of Costa MesaCA · FY2024$10,547
Unitemized GrantFY2023$19,864
Calvary Chapel of Costa MesaCA · FY2023$11,320
Ewerton and Natasha Munoz Da SilvaFY2022$73,879
Calvary Chapel Missions EvFY2022$5,562
Calvary Chapel Turku-Finland-SuomiFY2022$5,320
Calvary Chapel HerbornFY2021$225,000
Unitemized GrantFY2021$11,530
Ewerton and Natasha Munoz Da SilvaFY2021$6,500
Calvary Missions - Calvary Chapel Costa MesaFY2021$5,460
Crossroads Community ChurchFY2021$5,000
Unitemized GrantFY2020$24,886
Calvary Chapel Palos VerdesCA · FY2020$6,008

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$1.5M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.4M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$885K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$834K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.