New Vision Research EIN 46-2840795 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

New Vision Research FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Mt Pleasant, SC. It reported about $630K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $630K in revenue, $841K in expenses, and $245K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Mt Pleasant, SC
Website
www.newvisionresearch.org
Filings
5 on file (2021–2021)
Revenue
$630KFY2021
Expenses
$841K
Net assets
$245K
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  46-2840795 Private foundation / grantmaker Mt Pleasant, SC
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until New Vision Research claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Mt Pleasant, SC. It reported about $630K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$630K revenue, $841K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$630K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$841K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$245K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$211K
Total assets
249K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
310K
in FY2021
Grants made
2grants
total in period
Payout rate
124%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 2 grants · $300K · 2024–2024
Dr Ralph NixonFY2024$225,000
Research Foundation for Mental Hygiene INCFY2024$75,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$150K
Median grantPart XV$225K
Largest grantPart XV$225K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$630K
FY2021
Expenses
$841K
FY2021
Total assets
$249K
FY2021
Total liabilities
$4K
FY2021
Total revenue
$630K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$841K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$245K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$249K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CNew Vision Research
EINHdr · item D46-2840795
Principal addressHdr · item CMt Pleasant, SC
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.newvisionresearch.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MSC
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T99)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2014

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See New Vision Research executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$630K
Investment income$25
Total revenueLn 12$630K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.37 Operating & administrative $0.63
Grants & contributions paid37%$310K
Operating & administrative63%$531K
Total functional expensesLn 25$841K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$236K
Total assetsLn 16$249K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$4K
Total net assetsLn 32$245K
Months of cash on handcomputed3.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $249K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $630K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $630K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $630K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $245K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $630K · Expenses $841K
-33%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $249K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $245K · Total assets $249K
98%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $841K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$1.5M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.5M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$630K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.