Sorlie Family Foundation C/O Oscar J Sorlie JR EIN 41-1958210

Sorlie Family Foundation C/O Oscar J Sorlie JR

EIN  41-1958210 Private foundation / grantmaker Bend, OR
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Sorlie Family Foundation C/O Oscar J Sorlie JR claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Bend, OR. It reported about $61K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Oscar J Sorlie JR · Vice Preside
Money in and out
$61K revenue, $25K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Bend, OR. It reported about $61K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $61K in revenue, $25K in expenses, and $320K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$61K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$25K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$320K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $36K
Total assets
320K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
24K
in FY2025
Grants made
9grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 9 grants · $24K · 2025–2025
Oregon Public BroadcastingFY2025$16,500
First Presbyterian ChurchFY2025$5,200
Planned ParenthoodFY2025$650
Young Life Otter Tail CountyFY2025$600
Ten FriendsFY2025$250
Oregon Journalism ProjectFY2025$200
J Bar J Youth ServicesFY2025$200
Jail INCFY2025$100
Family KitchenFY2025$50

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$250
Largest grantPart XV$16K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$61K
FY2025▲ +91%
Expenses
$25K
FY2025▼ -1%
Total assets
$320K
FY2025▲ +13%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$61K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$25K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$320K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$320K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSorlie Family Foundation C/O Oscar J Sorlie JR
EINHdr · item D41-1958210
Principal addressHdr · item CBend, OR
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOR
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2000

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Vice Preside
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President, T
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Sorlie Family Foundation C/O Oscar J Sorlie JR executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$61K
Total revenueLn 12$61K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.96 Operating & administrative $0.04
Grants & contributions paid96%$24K
Operating & administrative4%$921
Total functional expensesLn 25$25K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$980
Total assetsLn 16$320K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$320K
Months of cash on handcomputed0.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $320K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $61K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $61K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $61K · Prior year $32K
+91%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $320K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $61K · Expenses $25K
+59%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $320K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $320K · Total assets $320K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Oscar J Sorlie JR · Reported title VICE PRESIDE · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $25K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 91%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$61K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$32K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$20K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$25K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$34K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$20K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.