Barnes Foundation EIN 36-4633582 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Barnes Foundation FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Oak Brook, IL. It reported about $259K in revenue for 2021. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $259K in revenue, $70K in expenses, and $196K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Oak Brook, IL
Website
www.barnes-foundation.org
Filings
5 on file (2020–2021)
Revenue
$259KFY2021
Expenses
$70K
Net assets
$196K
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  36-4633582 Private foundation / grantmaker Oak Brook, IL
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Barnes Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Oak Brook, IL. It reported about $259K in revenue for 2021.
Money in and out
$259K revenue, $70K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$259K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$70K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$196K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $189K
Total assets
196K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
65K
in FY2021
Grants made
24grants
total in period
Payout rate
33%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 24 grants · $149K · 2024–2024
Shirland School District 134FY2024$35,000
Easter Seals INCIL · FY2024$20,000
Marklund FoundationFY2024$10,000
Franciscan SistersFY2024$10,000
Franciscan Community BenefitFY2024$8,125
Ray Graham AssociationFY2024$7,500
Notre Dame ParishFY2024$6,000
Trinity Services INCIL · FY2024$5,000
The Bridge Teen CenterFY2024$5,000
Navarro Farm INCIL · FY2024$5,000
Endo CollectiveFY2024$5,000
Montini-San Miguel Scholarship FundFY2024$4,000
Fish Hospitality PantriesFY2024$4,000
Tunnel to Towers FoundationFY2024$2,100
Shriner's HospitalFY2024$2,080
St Jude's Research HospitalFY2024$2,000
Wounded Warrior Project INCFL · FY2024$1,060
See all 24 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV5
Average grantPart XV$6K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$35K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (8%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$259K
FY2021▲ +213%
Expenses
$70K
FY2021▼ -27%
Total assets
$196K
FY2021▲ ×26
Total liabilities
$0
FY2021
Total revenue
$259K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$70K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$196K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$196K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBarnes Foundation
EINHdr · item D36-4633582
Principal addressHdr · item COak Brook, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.barnes-foundation.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 2009

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Barnes Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$259K
Total revenueLn 12$259K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.93 Operating & administrative $0.07
Grants & contributions paid93%$65K
Operating & administrative7%$5K
Total functional expensesLn 25$70K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$196K
Total assetsLn 16$196K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$196K
Months of cash on handcomputed33.7

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $196K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $259K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $259K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $259K · Prior year $83K
+213%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $196K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $259K · Expenses $70K
+73%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $196K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $196K · Total assets $196K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $70K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 213%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$1.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$31K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$1.0M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$259K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$83K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.