Construction & General Laborers Un EIN 34-4236005 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Construction & General Laborers Un FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Negotiates fair wages and supports workers through collective bargaining. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $984K in revenue, $770K in expenses, and $3.2M in net assets.Pt I

Founded
1938
Type
Mutual-benefit / member-serving · Nonprofit
Location
Sandusky, OH
Website
laborers480.com
Filings
5 on file (2021–2021)
Revenue
$984KFY2021
Expenses
$770K
Net assets
$3.2M
People
10
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  34-4236005 Mutual-benefit / member-serving Sandusky, OH Founded 1938
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Construction & General Laborers Un claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
Negotiates fair wages and supports workers through collective bargaining.
Leadership
Brian Francis · Business Man · $119K
Money in and out
$984K revenue, $770K expenses
Bottom line
+22% surplus margin
Reported financial activity · FY2021
Total revenue
$984K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$770K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $214K
Surplus margin
+22%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990
Revenue
$984K
FY2021
Expenses
$770K
FY2021
Total assets
$3.2M
FY2021
Total liabilities
$204
FY2021
Total revenue
$984K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$770K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$214K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$3.2M
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 310
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 410

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CConstruction & General Laborers Un
EINHdr · item D34-4236005
Principal addressHdr · item CSandusky, OH
WebsiteHdr · item Jlaborers480.com
Year of formationHdr · item L1938
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOH
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(5) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFSep 1940

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a10
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b10
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2020); the FY2021 filing did not itemize Part VII
Business Man
$119,425Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary/Tr
$119,425Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Bo
$2,100Pt VII · Sec A
President
$2,100Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Bo
$2,100Pt VII · Sec A
$2,100Pt VII · Sec A
Executive Bo
$1,300Pt VII · Sec A
$675Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 8 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Timothy Titchenell$359,015$182,568$177,491$133,018$119,425
Brian Francis$359,015$182,568$177,491$133,018$119,425
Scott Mantz$151,642$24,159$4,800$4,800$2,900$2,100
Russell Mantz$151,641$24,158$4,800$4,800$2,900$2,100
Craig Sharfenberg$4,800$4,200$1,200$1,200$350$675
Jared Moe$4,800$4,800$4,800$4,800$2,900$2,100
Colton Anderson$4,800$1,500
Austin Francis$4,800$4,800$3,700$1,200$200

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Construction & General Laborers Un executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

To promote unions throughout its jurisdiction and to help protect the rights and interests of the membership.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue$905K · 92%
Investment income$77K · 8%
Program service revenue92%$905K
Investment income8%$77K
Other revenue$2K
Total revenueLn 12$984K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$596K
Total assetsLn 16$3.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$204
Total net assetsLn 32$3.2M
Months of cash on handcomputed9.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $3.0M · Operating expenses/yr $770K
46.4 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $770K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $770K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $770K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $0 · Solicited contributions $0
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $0 · Total revenue $984K
0%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $984K
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $905K · Total revenue $984K
92%
Investment reliance
Investment income $77K · Total revenue $984K
+8%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $905K · Total expenses $770K
118%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $984K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.2M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $984K · Expenses $770K
+22%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.2M · Total assets $3.2M
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $2.4M · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $3.2M
74%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Brian Francis · Reported title BUSINESS MAN · Highest reported compensation $119K · Total expenses $770K
16%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $418K · Total expenses $770K
54%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%
Investment management fee ratio 0.3%
Accounting fee ratio 2%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025$1.4M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.0M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$983K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$984K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.