Second St & Hope INC EIN 33-1027333

Second St & Hope INC

EIN  33-1027333 Private foundation / grantmaker Jefferson, MD
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Second St & Hope INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
Provides emergency aid and mentoring to end poverty.
Leadership
Frank Clements · President
Money in and out
$83K revenue, $184K expenses
Bottom line

Provides emergency aid and mentoring to end poverty. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $83K in revenue, $184K in expenses, and $2.3M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$83K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$184K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$101K
Total assets
2.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
128K
in FY2024
Grants made
16grants
total in period
Payout rate
5%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 16 grants · $128K · 2023–2023
Second Chances Garage INCMD · FY2023$10,000
Frederick County Public SchoolsFY2023$9,000
Crossroads Freedom CenterFY2023$8,000
SoarFY2023$5,000
Literacy Council of FrederickFY2023$5,000
City Youth Matrix CorpMD · FY2023$5,000
Children of Incarcerated ParentsFY2023$5,000
Life and Discovery INCMD · FY2023$2,500
Each 1 Teach 1 INCFY2023$2,200
Beading Hearts Overdose LossFY2023$300

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV9
Average grantPart XV$8K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$40K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (12%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$83K
FY2024▼ -13%
Expenses
$184K
FY2024▲ +24%
Total assets
$2.3M
FY2024▲ +16%
Total liabilities
$766
FY2024▼ -76%
Total revenue
$83K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$184K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$2.3M
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $89K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2021.
01

Second street & hope is able to feed, clothe, shelter and provide spiritual guidance for the homeless, addicted and working poor of frederick.

$89Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSecond St & Hope INC
EINHdr · item D33-1027333
Principal addressHdr · item CJefferson, MD
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.secondstreetandhope.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMD
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFMental Health (F20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 2002

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2021); the FY2024 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Preside
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary/ E
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Second St & Hope INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$82K · 98%
Contributions & grants$2K · 2%
Investment income98%$82K
Contributions & grants2%$2K
Total revenueLn 12$83K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.69 Operating & administrative $0.31
Grants & contributions paid69%$128K
Operating & administrative31%$56K
Total functional expensesLn 25$184K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$43K
Total assetsLn 16$2.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$766
Total net assetsLn 32$2.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed2.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $2.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $83K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $83K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $83K · Prior year $96K
-13%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $103K · FY2023 $83K
-5%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $2.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $83K · Expenses $184K
-121%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $2.3M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $2.3M · Total assets $2.3M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $184K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -13%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$83K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$96K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$117K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$108K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$103K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.