Saul Schottenstein Foundation B EIN 27-0167751 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Saul Schottenstein Foundation B FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Cincinnati, OH. It reported about $62K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $62K in revenue, $496K in expenses, and $6.2M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Website
www.saulschottensteinfoundationb.org
Filings
6 on file (2019–2020)
Revenue
$62KFY2020
Expenses
$496K
Net assets
$6.2M
People
0
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  27-0167751 Private foundation / grantmaker Cincinnati, OH
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Saul Schottenstein Foundation B claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Cincinnati, OH. It reported about $62K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$62K revenue, $496K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$62K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$496K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$6.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$434K
Total assets
6.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
179K
in FY2020
Grants made
60grants
total in period
Payout rate
3%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 60 grants · $203K · 2024–2024
Cincinnati Parks FoundationOH · FY2024$20,951
Ohio Innocence ProjectFY2024$15,000
Cincinnati Art MuseumFY2024$13,150
Planned ParenthoodTX · FY2024$10,000
Lindner Center of HopeFY2024$6,000
Ken Anderson AllianceOH · FY2024$6,000
Congregation Beth Adam INCFL · FY2024$6,000
University of Cincinnati Center forFY2024$5,000
Trinity CollegeFY2024$5,000
Taft Museum of ArtOH · FY2024$5,000
Syracuse University College of LawFY2024$5,000
Denver Botanical GardensFY2024$5,000
Denver Art Museum INCCO · FY2024$4,375
American Jewish CommitteeNY · FY2024$4,000
See all 60 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV26
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$30K
Top cause focusNTEEArts & Culture (7%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$62K
FY2020▼ -96%
Expenses
$496K
FY2020▲ +45%
Total assets
$6.2M
FY2020▼ -7%
Total liabilities
$703
FY2020▼ -88%
Total revenue
$62K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$496K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$6.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$6.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSaul Schottenstein Foundation B
EINHdr · item D27-0167751
Principal addressHdr · item CCincinnati, OH
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOH
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 2009

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2021
Jason Harris$80,000$40,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Saul Schottenstein Foundation B executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$62K
Total revenueLn 12$62K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.36 Operating & administrative $0.64
Grants & contributions paid36%$179K
Operating & administrative64%$317K
Total functional expensesLn 25$496K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.0M
Total assetsLn 16$6.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$703
Total net assetsLn 32$6.2M
Months of cash on handcomputed24.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $6.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $62K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $62K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $62K · Prior year $1.5M
-96%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $6.2M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $62K · Expenses $496K
-702%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $6.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $6.2M · Total assets $6.2M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $496K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -96%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$241K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$192K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$80K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$111K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$62K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2019$1.5M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.