George a Gaston Charitable Trust Pt 13008 EIN 13-6264438

George a Gaston Charitable Trust Pt 13008

EIN  13-6264438 Private foundation / grantmaker Chicago, IL
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until George a Gaston Charitable Trust Pt 13008 claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Chicago, IL. It reported about $379K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Jp Morgan Chase Bank NA · Trustee · $98K
Money in and out
$379K revenue, $563K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Chicago, IL. It reported about $379K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $379K in revenue, $563K in expenses, and $6.7M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$379K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$563K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$6.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$184K
Total assets
6.7M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
459K
in FY2025
Grants made
10grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 10 grants · $459K · 2024–2024
The College of WoosterOH · FY2024$137,758
The Board of PensionsFY2024$91,838
Presbyterian FoundationFY2024$45,919
Longs Run Trinity PresbyterianFY2024$22,960
Girl Scouts of Greater NyFY2024$22,960
The Salvation ArmyFY2024$22,960
Boy Scouts of AmericaFY2024$22,960
United Hospital Fund of NyFY2024$22,960
Northwell Health FoundationNY · FY2024$22,960

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV3
Average grantPart XV$46K
Median grantPart XV$23K
Largest grantPart XV$138K
Top cause focusNTEEColleges & Universities (20%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$379K
FY2025▲ +8%
Expenses
$563K
FY2025▲ +10%
Total assets
$6.7M
FY2025▼ -3%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$379K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$563K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$6.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$6.7M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CGeorge a Gaston Charitable Trust Pt 13008
EINHdr · item D13-6264438
Principal addressHdr · item CChicago, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T90Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFSep 1969

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
$98,260Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2022
Jp Morgan Chase Bank NA$98,260$93,144

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See George a Gaston Charitable Trust Pt 13008 executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$379K
Total revenueLn 12$379K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.82 Operating & administrative $0.18
Grants & contributions paid82%$459K
Operating & administrative18%$104K
Total functional expensesLn 25$563K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$193K
Total assetsLn 16$6.7M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$6.7M
Months of cash on handcomputed4.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $6.7M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $379K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $379K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $379K · Prior year $351K
+8%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $500K · FY2024 $379K
-7%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $6.7M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $379K · Expenses $563K
-49%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $6.7M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $6.7M · Total assets $6.7M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Jp Morgan Chase Bank NA · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $98K · Total expenses $563K
17%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 8%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$379K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$351K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$496K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$384K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$500K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.